bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

Dominant Railways defend T20 title

Dominant Railways defend T20 title

Railways emerged winners of the Senior Women’s T20, Elite Super League in the 2016-17 season. The Veda Krishnamurthy-led team were unbeaten in the league phase and finished at the top of the points table. 

In their first outing, Railways beat Hyderabad by nine runs to kick start their campaign. Mithali Raj set up the win with a sparkling unbeaten century after Krishnamurthy elected to bat. Her whirlwind knock was complemented by Punam Raut’s 55-ball 66 not out to set the opposition a 168-run target. Poonam Yadav (two wickets) and Co. then defended the formidable total to clinch victory.

In their second game, they again cantered to a nine-wicket win, this time against Bengal. After restricting Bengal to 82 for six, Ekta Bisht picked two wickets while Soni Yadav, Swagathika Rath and N Niranjana picked a wicket each to set up the game for Railways. Chasing the sub-par score, Raut returned to the pavilion for 28 but MD Thirushkamini and Niranjana took the team across the line.

Railways then claimed the title with a resounding win against Madhya Pradesh in the last game. Mithali once again led the charge to set up the match in Railways’ favour. With an unbeaten 64-ball 83 she helped set the opponents a 169-run target. Niranjana then provided the first breakthrough with the wicket of Shweta Mishra. Bisht and Yadav then chipped in with a wicket each while Rajeshwari and Rath claimed a wicket each to bowl MP out for 96 and seal victory with three overs to spare.

With 18 wickets from seven matches MP’s Nidhi Buley topped the list of highest wicket-takers in the senior women’s T20 league while Mithali Raj holds the No. 1 position in the run-getters list with 311 runs from seven matches (six innings). 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Nayar’s 91 sets up exciting final day contest

Chintan Gaja picks six wickets

Chasing 312 runs, Gujarat need 265 runs on the last day and have all 10 wickets in hand as they head into the fifth day of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 final to claim their maiden title, while Mumbai need to bowl the opposition out to retain the trophy. Although Chitan Gaja finished with a maiden six-wicket haul in the second innings, skipper Aditya Tare and all-rounder Abhishek Nayar played vital knocks to keep Mumbai’s hopes alive.

The Nayar-Tare pair, who have played crucial roles for the defending champions throughout the season played significant innings. Building on the foundation laid by Shreyas Iyer and Surya Kumar Yadav, the captain and the all-rounder ensured that the bowlers have a total to defend.

Surya Kumar was the first to depart in the morning after Mumbai resumed their innings on 208 for three. The middle-order batsman nicked at Rush Kalaria delivery and departed on 49 off 215 balls. The stoic knock had helped hold the innings together. 32 runs later, Siddhesh Lad pulled RP Singh to deep square-leg and followed him back to the pavilion.

At 270 for five, Nayar joined Tare in an effort to set the opposition a competitive target. The captain, who had received a life while on 18 after hitting to gully as Gaja had overstepped had kept the scoreboard ticking with boundaries as regular intervals. However, after a 27-run stand Tare was trapped lbw by Hardik Patel.

Nayar then did the hard yards with the lower order to add vital runs to the total. Balwinder Sandhu helped add 26 runs for the seventh wicket before hitting Gaja to Manprit Juneja in the cover region. And Shardul Thakur became the pacer’s fifth wicket in his next over.

Nayar then farmed the strike and added 85 runs with the last two wickets – (44-run stand with Vishal Dabholkar and 41-run stand with Vijay Gohil) - until he was adjudged lbw off RP Singh. With Mumbai on their toes to declare, the left-hand bat needed nine runs to complete his century. Parthiv handed the ball to his ace bowler, RP Singh and the pacer responded with the wicket to wrap-up Mumbai’s second innings for 411.

In reply, Samit Gohil (8*) and Priyank Panchal (34*) then took Gujarat to 47 without loss until the extended day’s play was called off due to bad light on Day 4.

The highest run-getter of the season, Panchal has crossed the 1300-run mark in Ranji Trophy 2016-17 season. He is within sniffing distance of surpassing the No 2 - Shreyas Iyer (1321 runs in 2015-16) in the list of highest run-getters in Ranji Trophy. VVS Laxman tops the list with 1415 runs.

Brief scores: 

Day 1 - Mumbai 1st inn 228/10 in 83.5 overs (P Shaw 71, SK Yadav 57, R Bhatt 2/5, CT Gaja 2/46, RP Singh 2/48); Gujarat 1st inn 2/0 in 1 over. Trail by 22r runs
Day 2 – Gujarat 1st inn 291/6 in 92 overs (P Patel 90, M Juneja 77, C Gandhi 17*, R Kalaria 16*, A Nayar 3/91, S Thakur 2/67) Lead by 63 runs
Day 3 – Gujarat 1st inn 328/10 in 104.3 overs (R Kalaria 27, S Thakur 4/84, BS Sandhu 3/63); Mumbai 2nd inn 208/3 in 67 overs (S Iyer 82, SK Yadav 45, A Tare 13*, CT Gaja 3/54) Lead by 108 runs
Day 4 – Mumbai 2nd inn 411/10 in 137.1 overs (A Nayar 91, A Tare 69, C Gaja 6/121); Gujarat 2nd inn 47/0 in 13.2 overs (P Panchal 34*, S Gohil 8*) Need 265 runs to win 

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article