bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

Railways win Women’s (Elite) one-day league

Mithali Raj-led team remains unbeaten in super league phase

Railways emerged winners from the elite group of Women’s one-day tournament 2016-17. The Mithali Raj-led team won all their three matches in the super league phase to finish at the top of the table and claim the title while Maharashtra finished as runners-up.

The Elite Group - A comprised of Maharashtra, Delhi, Baroda, Hyderabad and Goa. While Maharashtra won all four games of the league phase to qualify for the Super League, Delhi qualified on the basis of net run rate after winning two of their four games.

The Elite Group - B comprised of Madhya Pradesh, Railways, Andhra, Punjab and Mumbai. MP finished at the top of their table with two wins from four games while Railways finished at the second position. They had won one match while there was no result in three of their matches and points were equally split.

The Mithali Raj-led team then dominated the super league with comprehensive wins against Maharashtra, MP and Delhi.

In their opening game in the super league, Railways set Maharashtra a 171-run target and bowled the opposition out for 91 to win by 79 runs. Electing to bat, the Raj-led team scored 170 for six with the captain top-scoring for her side. Her 36 along with useful contributions by the rest of the lineup including Harmanprret Kaur's 35 helped Railways to a modest total in the game. Poonam Yadav then led the attack to help the team to a win. She claimed four for 15 while, Ekta Bisht picked two and Niranjana Nagarajan and Kavita took a wicket each. 

In their second game, Railways beat Madhya Pradesh by 10 wickets after bowling the opposition out for 71. After MP opted to bat, Bisht and Harmanpreet claimed three wickets apiece while Poonam Yadav took two to bowl the Nidhi Buley-led team out in 41.3 overs. Railways openers - Paramit Roy (26*) and MD Thirushkamini (41*) then chased down the target in 22.5 overs to claim victory. 

In their last game against Group A table-toppers, the top-order propelled Railways to a respectable 265 to set up the game. Opener Punam Raut led the lineup with a 136-ball 102 while MD Thirushkamini and the skipper scored 68 and 62 respectively to set Delhi a 266-run target. Poonam Yadav (three for 33), Rajeshwari (two for 12) and Ekta Bisht (two for 12) then bowled Railways out for a paltry 126 to bowl the team to a 140-run victory.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Mohit Sharma stars in Haryana victory

Tripura beat Services after centurions Bose and Patel set up the match

After centurions U Bose and S Patel set the platform for a win, the Gurinder Singh (four-wickets) –led attack bowled Tripura to victory against Services. In Jamshedpur, captain Mohit Sharma set the stage for a win with a five-for to bowl Hyderabad out for 224. His batsmen then chased down the small total to gain six points from the win.

After a win in the first game of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Chhattisgarh took first innings lead against Andhra in the second.

Group C, Round 2 – Day 4 Round-up:

Hyderabad vs Haryana in Jamshedpur: Hyderabad 1st inn 191/10 in 82.5 overs ( B Sandeep 44, K Sumanth 35, Y Chahal 6/44);Haryana 1st inn 331/10 in 130.4 overs (S Bishnoi 73, RP Sharma 31, M Hassan 6/93); Hyderabad 2nd inn 224/10 in 83.5 overs (K Sumanth 55, CV Milind 66*, M Sharma 5/26, S Pahal 3/49); Haryana85/2 in 16.4 overs (N Saini 45, S Bishnoi 20*, Mohd. Siraj 3/18) Haryana won by 8 wickets
Mohit Sharma claimed four wickets including that overnight batsman K Sumanth after Hyderabad resumed their innings on 102 for five to bowl the opposition out for 224 on the final day of the game. The Haryana captain finished with a five for 26 as he set-up the game for his team.

Haryana then chased down the 85-run target in less than 17 overs with N Saini (45) top-scoring for the team.

Tripura vs Services in Guwahati: Tripura 1st inn 275/10 in 91.4 overs (G Singh 35, D Pathania 3/71); Services 1st inn 233/10 in 82.5 overs (S Yadav 101*, M Murasingh 3/58); Tripura 2nd inn 340/3 decl in 89.2 overs (U Bose 165, S Patel 127*); Services 163/10 in 54.1 overs (R Gahlaut 51, G Singh 4/25, MB Murasingh 3/54) Tripura won by 219 runs

Overnight batsman U Bose and S Patel resumed Tripura’s second innings on 280 for one on the fourth morning. While Bose was sent back by V Yadav for 165, S Patel was not out on 127 when they declared their innings on 340 for three earlier in the day. 

Gurinder Singh then helped wreck the Services lineup and bowl Tripura to a resounding win. He claimed four for 25 and was ably complemented by MB Murasingh (three wickets) and Rana Datta (two wickets) while A Sarakar chipped in with one wicket.

Andhra vs Chhattisgarh in Kalyani, Bengal:
Chhattisgarh 1st inn 394/10 in 126.4 overs (A Khare 143, A Chauhan 123, D Siva Kumar 4/61); Andhra 1st inn 199/10 in 73.2 overs (B Bhatt 27*, P Rao 4/70) F/o Andhra 2nd inn 282/8 in 145 overs (GH Vihari 51, DB Ravi Teja 49, A Mandal 3/30) Match Drawn. Chattisgarh took first innings lead.

GH Vihari-led Andhra pulled of a draw after being asked to follow on by Chhattisgarh and picked one point from the match. Resuming the innings on 122 for four, the captain who was batting on 29 when play started on the fourth day went on to post a half-century even as the Chhattisgarh bowlers worked to bowl the lineup out. With useful contributions from down the order, Andhra put up a resistance to pull off a draw.

When play was called off, Andhra were 282 for eight. 

Goa vs Jammu & Kashmir in Surat: J & K 1st inn 227/10 in 70.3 overs (P Rasool 82, I Singh 67, S Jakati 4/48); Goa 1st inn 77/10 in 30.5 overs (S Dubhashi 15, R Dayal 4/15, U Nazir 3/10); J & K 2nd inn 261/10 in 61.3 overs (P Bisht 87, I Singh 64, A Pandrekar 3/39, A Yadav 3/70); Goa 2nd inn 295/10 in 92.1 overs (S Dubhashi 79*, P Rasool 5/89, A Aziz 2/60) J & K win by 116 runs

With a five-wicket haul in Goa’s second innings, Parvez Rasool helped bowl the opposition out for 295 runs and clinch a win.

Kerala vs Himachal in Eden Gardens, Kolkata:
Kerala 1st inn 248/10 in 107.1 overs (S Baby 61, VA Jagadeesh 35, R Dhawan 4/66); HP 1st inn 261/10 in 75.1 overs (S Verma 50*, K Monish 2/35); Kerala 115/10 in (R Prem 20, B Thampi 20, G Singh 5/37, M Dagar 3/25); Himachal 2nd inn 103/4 in 25 overs (P Dogra 27*, K Monsih 3/31) Himachal won by 6 wickets

HP chased down the 103-run target with useful contributions from the middle-order. K Monish claimed three wickets in HP’s chase as P Dogra saw the team to the finish line.

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article