Show me in: हिंदी
The Board of Control for Cricket in India

Vijay Hazare Trophy, 2020-21: Gujarat, Karnataka march into semifinals

Gujarat came out on top against Andhra while Karnataka beat Kerala in the quarterfinals on Monday and with it, entered semifinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Here’s how the action unfolded:

Quarterfinal 1 – Gujarat vs Andhra

Priyank Panchal led from the front and scored a ton while Arzan Nagwaswalla starred with the ball as Gujarat secured their sixth win on the bounce, beating Andhra at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi to march into the semifinals.

After electing to bat, Gujarat lost Dhruv Raval in the seventh over. But Rahul Shah and Gujarat skipper Priyank Panchal denied Andhra any immediate success, putting up a 80-run stand for the second wicket before Rahul got out for 36.

Panchal though stayed put and added two more fifty-plus stands – first, a 53-run partnership with Het Patel and then, a quickfire 57 with Ripal Patel.

Panchal then brought up a well-deserved hundred in the 45th over as Gujarat moved past the 240-run mark. The Gujarat skipper eventually got out in the penultimate over but not before he had scored 134 to guide his side to a solid first-innings total.

Andhra needed a strong start in the chase but Nagwaswalla ran through the Andhra top order. The left-arm pacer scalped three wickets over the course of his first three overs, dismissing C R Gnaneshwar, Ashwin Hebbar and Andhra skipper Hanuma Vihari.

Nitish Kumar Reddy and Karan Shinde were the next two wickets to fall as Andhra were reduced to 58/5.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Ricky Bhui and Naren Reddy then joined forces for Andhra and the pair added 61 runs off 51 balls to take Andhra close to 120. But the partnership was broken in the 25th over as Nagwaswalla picked his fourth wicket of the match. Three overs later, Bhui was out LBW as Piyush Chawla struck.

Andhra were eventually bowled for 182 as Gujarat secured a comfortable 117-run win and with it, became the first team to reach the semifinals.

Brief Scores: Gujarat 299/7 (Priyank Panchal 134, Rahul Shah 36; M Harishankar Reddy 3/60) beat Andhra 182 all out (Ricky Bhui 67, Naren Reddy 28; Arzan Nagwaswalla 4/28) by 117 runs

Quarterfinal 2 – Karnataka vs Kerala

Devdutt Padikkal and captain R Samarth continued their impressive batting form as Karnataka beat Kerala by 80 runs at the Airforce Complex Ground in Palam to seal a place in the semifinals.

After Kerala put Karnataka into bat, the opening pair of R Samarth and Devdutt Padikkal put up a solid show with the bat and put up a 249-run stand. While Padikkal scored his 4th hundred from six games, R Samarth notched up his third hundred of the tournament.

Padikkal – the leading run-getter of the tournament – brought up his fourth successive hundred and sixth consecutive fifty-plus score and hit 101 with the help of 10 fours and 2 sixes.  

Samarath, who is now the second-highest run-getter of the tournament, creamed 192 off 158 deliveries, hitting 22 fours and 3 sixes. While the right-hander narrowly missed out on his double ton, he and Devdutt Padikkal fired Karnataka to 338/3.

Kerala lost three wickets in the steep chase with just 52 runs on the board as Ronit More and Prasidh Krishna shared the spoils. Sachin Baby and Vathsal Govind then added 59 runs together before K Gowtham dismissed Sachin Baby in the 24th over.

Mohammed Azharuddeen then joined Vathsal Govind in the middle and the two added 92 runs in 58 balls to take Kerala past 200. However, Shreyas Gopal broke the partnership as Azharuddeen got out after scoring a quickfire 52 off 34 balls.

Karnataka eventually bowled Kerala out for 258 and registered a 80-run win to enter semifinals.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 338/3 (R Samarth 192, Devdutt Padikkal 101; Nedumankuzhy Basil 3/57) beat Kerala 258 all out (Vathsal Govind 92, Mohammed Azharuddeen 52; Ronit More 5/36) by 80 runs