Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Ninth Round: Goa beat Mizoram on Day 2 to reach quarterfinals

By Ameya Tilak in

Goa secured their place in the quarterfinals with an outright win over Mizoram while Odisha and Jammu and Kashmir, who in the race to reach top eight, did not do much harm to their chances to reach quarterfinals as the second day of Round IX came to an end.

Here’s how the action unfolded on Thursday:

Punit Bisht, who was unbeaten on 163 on Day one, went on to complete a double ton, scoring 250, while Wanlambok Nongkhlaw scored 70 as Meghalaya scored 576/9d against Arunachal Pradesh. Chengkam Sangma and Sanjay then picked up two wickets each as Meghalaya reduced Arunachal Pradesh to 115/5 at stumps.

Tripura, meanwhile, added 110 runs to their overnight score of 387. In response, Assam made a strong start and ended the day at 162/1 on the back of Rishav Das’ 88*.

In Kolkata, Goa sealed a place in the quarterfinals. After declaring at 490/4 on the first day, the bowlers shared the spoils as Goa bundled out Mizoram for 109 and enforced a follow-on. While K B Pawan scored 111*, skipper Amit Verma picked up five wickets as Goa bowled out Mizoram for 170 to win the match by an innings and 211 runs to pocket seven points.

Elsewhere in Kolkata, Bipul Sharma and Gurinder Singh slammed double tons after Uday Kaul’s 176 as Chandigarh posted a mammoth 672/8d on the board. Gurinder Singh then starred with the ball, picking up five wickets, as Chandigarh bundled out Manipur for 63 and enforced a follow-on. At the close of play, Manipur were 33/0, trailing Chandigarh by 576 runs.

At the Barabati Stadium, Debasish Samantray scored 156 as Odisha scored 436, batting first. Jharkhand ended the second day at 71/2.

In Cuttack, Yashpal scored 140 but Bihar managed to take a first-innings lead of 33 runs as skipper Ashutosh Aman scalped five wickets to limit Sikkim to 272.

In Raipur, meanwhile, Services secured a 219-run lead against Chhattisgarh after scoring 398 runs on the back of Rahul Singh Gahlaut’s 115 and Rajat Paliwal’s 91. Chhattisgarh ended the second day at 17/0, trailing Services by 202 runs.

At the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Kshitiz Sharma and Kunwar Bidhuri scored hundreds on the second day as Delhi, who resumed the day’s play at 389/6, added 234 runs to post 623 runs on the board. Rajasthan ended the day at 115/4.

In Nadiad, Gujarat ended the second day at 354/6. While skipper Parthiv Patel scored 57, Axar Patel and Chirag Gandhi scored 89 and 80* respectively as Gujarat extended their lead to 177 runs against Andhra.

Defending champions Vidarbha restricted Hyderabad to 272 as Yash Thakur, Aditya Thakare and Rajneesh Gurbani picked up four, three and three wickets respectively. In response, skipper Faiz Fazal scored an unbeaten 126 while Ganesh Satish scored 65 as Vidarbha ended the day at 242/4, trailing Hyderabad by 30 runs.

In Patiala, Bengal’s Shahbaz Ahmed picked seven wickets but Anmol Malhotra’s 44 helped Punjab secure a 13-run lead before being bowled out for 138. In the second innings, fifties from Arnab Nandi and Manoj Tiwary took Bengal to 199/9 before the end of the day’s play.

At the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the last three Karnataka wickets cost Baroda 91 runs. Karnataka were 142/7 after bowling out Baroda for 85. But Abhimanyu Mithun scored 40 to guide Karnataka to 233. For Baroda, Soyeb Sopariya got five wickets.

In the second innings, Ahmadnoor Pathan scored 90 while Deepak Hooda scored fifty as Baroda ended the second day at 208/5, leading Karnataka by 60 runs.

In Mumbai, Sarfaraz Khan missed out on a double but Mumbai managed to push Madhya Pradesh on the backfoot. After scoring 427 runs, batting first, Mumbai restricted the Shubham Sharma-led side to 200/7 before the close of play.

At the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, N Jagadeesan scored 183 as Tamil Nadu, who resumed the day’s play at 250/7, added 174 runs more to post 424 runs on the board. In response, Saurashtra, who have already sealed a place in the quarterfinals, ended the day at 107/3.

Meanwhile, in Lucknow, Rishi Dhawan picked up five wickets as Himachal Pradesh bowled out Uttar Pradesh for 119 to secure a 101-run lead. In the second innings, RI Thakur scored 73 and Akash Vasisht scored 51* as Himachal Pradesh ended the day at 182/3, leading Uttar Pradesh by 283 runs.

In the Jammu and Kashmir-Haryana game in Jammu, Pramod Chandila scored 119 but Mujtaba Yousuf’s six-wicket haul helped J & K restrict Haryana to 291 to secure a 49-run lead.

In Baramati, Uttarakhand secured a 44-run lead over Maharashtra after scoring 251 on the back of Kamal Singh’s 101. Maharashtra ended the second day at 140/2, with Swapnil Fulpagar and Ankit Bawne batting on 40* and 50* respectively.

Pondicherry, facing Nagaland, ended the second day at 517/7. While Paras Dogra scored an unbeaten 125, Sagar Udeshi, K B Arun Karthick and Fabid Ahmed contributed with 79, 98 and 70 respectively as Pondicherry stretched their lead to 341 runs.