Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Ninth Round: Day One Wrap

By Ameya Tilak in

Goa hammered 490 runs before declaration while Sarfaraz Khan scored yet another ton - his third hundred-plus score in four matches - as the first day of the Round IX of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 came to an end.

Here’s a round-up of all the action which unfolded on Wednesday:

Gujarat, who had already qualified for the quarterfinals, bowled out Andhra for 177. While Arzan Nagwaswalla scalped four wickets, Axar Patel and Siddharth Desai picked up three and two wickets each. Gujarat, having to negotiate four overs before the close of play, ended the first day at 2/0.

At the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, Rajneesh Gurbani picked up three wickets and Yash Thakur scalped four wickets as Vidarbha limited Hyderabad to 239/7. For Hyderabad, Prateek Reddy scored an unbeaten 76 while Buddhi Rahul scored 52.

D B Ravi Teja (130) and captain-wicketkeeper Punit Bisht (163*) scored hundreds as Meghalaya ended the opening day at 387/4 against Arunachal Pradesh in Dibrugarh. The two joined forces when Meghalaya were 105/3 and added 234 runs together before Tempol dismissed D B Ravi Teja.

In a Group C match in Guwahati, Tripura scored 387/7 after Asaam elected to bowl. While Arkaprabha Sinha scored 90 and M B Mura Singh scored 82*, Pratyush Singh and Milind Kumar chipped in with 63 and 53 runs respectively.

Goa, who are currently topping the Plate Group, rode on Smit Patel’s double hundred and Amit Verma’s century and declared at 490/4 in 77.5 overs against Mizoram. Goa were 108/2 when the two came together and put up a 301-run stand. While Patel slammed 236 off 195 balls, hitting 28 fours and 3 sixes, Verma hammered 148 from 123 deliveries with the help of 12 fours and 8 sixes. Mizoram, who had to negotiate seven over before stumps, ended the day at 15/1.

At the Videocon Ground in Kolkata, Uday Kaul and Bipul Sharma notched up tons – scoring 145* and 119* – while Raman Bishnoi scored fifty to guide Chandigarh to 352/5 against Manipur.

In Cuttack, Bihar ended the day at 286/8 as Shasheem Rathour scored a ton while Vikash Ranjan scored 95 against Sikkim. Iqbal Abdulla picked up four wickets for Sikkim.

Meanwhile, in Raipur, Amandeep Khare scored 97 but Raushan Raj picked up four wickets as Services bowled out Chhattisgarh for 179. While Services had a solid opening start, they lost three wickets before stumps, scoring 81.

In the Delhi versus Rajasthan game, Hiten Dalal scored a ton while Jonty Sidhu and Himmat Singh scored 92 and 90 respectively as Delhi scored 389/6 before the close of play.

At the Wankhede Stadium, Sarfaraz Khan, who scored an unbeaten 169, notched up his third hundred-plus score in four matches as he and Aakarshit Gomel, who scored 122, guided Mumbai to 352/4 against Madhya Pradesh. The duo of Gomel and Sarfaraz added 272 runs before the former got out.

In Rajkot, Jaydev Unadkat, who could not play Saurashtra’s previous game due to a niggle, scalped three wickets as Saurashtra limited Tamil Nadu to 250/7 on the opening day despite Abhinav Mukund’s 86 and N Jagadeesan’s 61*.

In the Uttar Pradesh versus Himachal Pradesh game in Lucknow, Aaqib Khan scalped five wickets as Uttar Pradesh bowled out the Ankit Kalsi-led side for 220. In response, Uttar Pradesh scored 23/1 at stumps.

In Patiala, Manoj Tiwary scored an unbeaten 73 but Vinay Choudhary’s six-wicket haul helped Punjab bowl out Bengal for 138. At the close of play, Punjab had scored 93/3, with skipper Mandeep Singh batting on 29.

At the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the ball did all the talking as 17 wickets fell on the opening day of the Karnataka versus Baroda match. Abhimanyu Mithun and K Gowtham picked three wickets each while M Prasidh Krishna got two wickets as Karnataka bundled out Baroda for 85. In response, Karun Nair scored 47 as Karnataka ended the day at 165/7, leading Baroda by runs.

Shubham Khajuria and Shubham Singh Pundir scored 62 and 84 runs respectively as Jammu and Kashmir posted 340 runs on the board. Haryana ended the day at 2/1.

In Baramati, Vishant More and Ashay Palkar scored fifties, but Agrim Tiwari and Pradeep Chamoli picked up three wickets each as Uttarakhand limited Maharashtra to 207. In response, Kamal Singh’s unbeaten 51 guided Uttarakhand to 112/3.

In a Plate Group match, Sagar Trivdei and Sagar Udesh scalped three wickets each as Pondicherry bowled out Nagaland for 176. Pondicherry, before the end of the day’s play, scored 92/2.

At the Barabati Stadium, Anurag Sarangi and Debasish Samantray scored 65 and 67* respectively as Odisha scored 205/4 against Jharkhand before stumps on the first day.