Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Eighth Round: Haryana, Punjab secure wins on Day 2

By Ameya Tilak in

Four outright wins and a set-up for a few more highlighted the second day of the Round VIII of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 came to an end.

Here’s how the action unfolded on Wednesday:

Haryana pocketed six points following their seven-wicket win over Assam in Lahli. Harshal Patel scalped eight wickets – 4 in each innings – in the match and became the Haryana bowler with the most number of wickets in a Ranji Trophy season. Haryana, who had taken a 101-run lead in the first innings, bowled out Assam for 197 runs in the second innings and chased down the 97-run target to seal a win.

Fabid Ahmed, who resumed the day’s play on the overnight score of 154, went on to complete a double ton, scoring 233, as Pondicherry scored 490 in the first innings against Manipur. Sagar Udeshi, who had earlier scored a brisk fifty, then completed a five-wicket haul as Manipur were bowled out for 138. After enforcing a follow-on, Alagh Prathiban picked up five wickets as Pondicherry bundled out Manipur for 111 to complete an innings and a 241-run win to bag seven points.

The bowlers did all the talking as the Punjab versus Andhra game ended in under two days in Patiala. Punjab were all out for 108 after securing a 11-run lead on the first day. On Day 2, the Punjab bowlers had reduced Andhra to 36/7. However, skipper Ricky Bhui’s 61 and K V Sasikanth’s 47 helped Andhra cross 130-run mark in the second innings. Vinay Choudhary picked up six wickets for Punjab in the second innings.

Needing 124 runs to win, Punjab were in a spot of bother, losing 5 wickets with 32 runs on the board. However, Anmol Malhotra and Abhishek Gupta scored 51* and 37 respectively as Punjab sealed a win and bagged six points.

Services too pocked seven points following their outright win over Uttarakhand. Raushan Raj and Sachidanand Pandey picked up three wickets each as Services, after securing a 90-run lead, bowled out Uttarakhand for 137. Services chased down the 48-run target, without losing a wicket, to seal a ten-wicket win.

In Mangaldai, the bowlers had a field day on the second day of the Meghalaya versus Sikkim game. Meghalaya secured a 46-run lead after bowling out Sikkim for 128 as Abhay Negi picked up seven wickets.

Sikkim though managed to restrict Meghalaya to 155 in the second innings as Iqbal Abdulla and Palzor got four wickets each. Needing 202 runs to win, Sikkim were reduced to 66/7 before stumps on the second day as Sanjay and Negi picked up three wickets each in the second innings.

In Jamshedpur, Chhattisgarh continued to make merry with the bat against Jharkhand. While skipper Harpreet Singh Bhatia scored 221, Ajay Mandal scored a ton as Chhattisgarh posted 559 runs on the board. In response, Jharkhand were reduced to 36/4 before stumps as Veer Pratap Singh scalped three wickets.

Jammu and Kashmir, meanwhile, rode on skipper Parvez Rasool’s seven-wicket haul to secure a 142-run lead against Tripura, bowling them out for 187. Jammu and Kashmir, then ended the day at 49/1, extending their lead to 191 runs.

In Sovima, meanwhile, Goa headed for a significant first-innings lead over Nagaland. Amulya Pandrekar picked up five wickets as Goa, after scoring 318, reduced Nagaland to 167/9 before the close of play.

In Patna, Rahul Dalal missed out on a double hundred by 10 runs, but his side – Arunachal Pradesh – restricted Bihar to 221/9 after scoring 351, batting first. While Kengo picked up four wickets, Tempol and Niia got two wickets each for Arunachal Pradesh.

Gujarat, who are squaring off against Delhi in New Delhi, ended the day at 269/4 after limiting Delhi to 293. Gujarat were 88/4 but Manprit Juneja and Dhruv Raval put up an unbeaten 181-run stand to bring Gujarat closer to Delhi’s first-innings total.

In Rajkot, Sheldon Jackson’s 85 and forties from Chirag Jani and Arpit Vasavada guided Saurashtra to 257/6 and need five runs more to surpass Mumbai’s first-innings total of 262. In Pune, meanwhile, Maharashtra, after limiting Odisha to 293, ended the day at 219/2 on the back of Ruturaj Gaikwad’s 110* and Ankit Bawne’s 80*.

Rajasthan, meanwhile, secured a 118-run lead in the first innings after bowling out Bengal for 123 as Tanveer Ul-Haq and Rituraj Singh scalped four wickets each. While Nilkantha Das’ four wickets reduced Rajasthan to 156/8 before stumps, they extended their lead to 274 runs.

In Nagpur, Vidarbha, who resumed the day’s play on the overnight score of 239/6, went on to post 326 runs on the board against Kerala following a quickfire 66* from Darshan Nalkande. The right-hander hit 7 fours and 3 sixes during his 65-ball stay in the middle to help Vidarbha add 87 runs more to their overnight score. Kerala ended the day at 191/3 as Mohammed Azharuddeen scored 81.

In Shimoga, Karnataka lost their overnight batsmen Ravikumar Samarth and Krishnamurthy Siddharth early. However, Krishnappa Gowtham’s 68-ball 82-run blitz and Shreyas Gopal’s fifty took Karnataka to 426 against Madhya Pradesh. In response, Madhya Pradesh scored 60 runs, losing two wickets.

In the Railways versus Himachal Pradesh game, Arindam Ghosh’s unbeaten hundred and Mahesh Rawat’s 60 helped Railways surpass Himachal Pradesh’s first-innings total of 283 and end the day at 291/5.

In Vadodara, Tamil Nadu tightened their grip on the game against Baroda. Abhinav Mukund scored a double hundred as Tamil Nadu scored 490/7d, securing a 316-run lead over the Krunal Pandya-led Baroda side, who ended the day at 10/0.

Chandigarh, meanwhile, took giant strides to secure a possible innings win. After bowling out Mizoram for 109, Chandigarh slammed 587/5d. Uday Kaul scored an unbeaten 212, Ankit Kaushik hammered 177 off 152 balls and Raman Bishnoi scored 139 as Chandigarh secured a 478-run lead before reducing Mizoram to 48/3 at stumps.