Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

India beat Pakistan to march into U19 World Cup final

By BCCI Desk in

India marched into the Under 19 World Cup final following a comprehensive ten-wicket win over Pakistan in the semi-final at the Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Tuesday.

After Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi and Ravi Bishnoi shared the spoils to bowl out Pakistan Under 19 for 172, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Divyaansh Saxena starred with the bat as India Under 19 crossed the finish line with 14.4 overs to spare.

Electing to bat, Pakstan Under 19 lost Mohammad Huraira early as Mishra gave India Under 19 their first breakthrough. Fahad Munir was the next man to get out as Bishnoi struck in the ninth over.

Haider Ali, who scored 56 off 77 balls, and Rohail Nazir added 62 runs together before Jaiswal dismissed the former to break the partnership.

A confusion during the running between the wickets cost Pakistan Under 19 their fourth wicket as Qasim Akram was run out for 9.

Saxena’s fielding brilliance gave India Under 19 their fifth wicket. Saxena ran to his right from the deep mid-wicket and took a one-handed stunner to end Mohammad Haris’ 15-ball 21-run innings.

Pakistan lost their sixth wicket as Kartik Tyagi disturbed the timber to dismiss Irfan Khan. Bishnoi then trapped Abbas Afridi before the stumps as India Under 19 scalped their seventh wicket.

Mishra scalped his second wicket of the match as he got Pakistan Under 19 captain and wicketkeeper Nazir for 62. Pakistan Under were eventually all out for 172.

Needing 173 runs to win, India Under 19 openers – Jaiswal and Saxena – denied their opponents any early success.

The pair dominated the Pakistan Under 19 bowlers, putting up an unbeaten 176-run stand, helping India Under 19 secure a win. While Jaiswal scored an unbeaten 105, finishing the game with a six, Saxena scored an unbeaten 59.

India Under 19 will now face the winner of the Bangladesh versus New Zealand in the final on Sunday.

Brief Scores: India Under 19 176/0 (Yashasvi Jaiswal 105*, Divyaansh Saxena 59*) beat Pakistan Under 19 172 all out (Rohail Nazir 62, Haider Ali 56; Sushant Mishra 3/28) by ten wickets