Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Sixth Round: Rana seals Delhi’s win, Sarfaraz scores triple hundred

By Ameya Tilak in

Nitish Rana’s whirlwind hundred sealed a stunning win for Delhi while Sarfaraz Khan completed an unbeaten 300 as Mumbai bagged three points against Uttar Pradesh on the final day of the sixth round of Ranji Trophy 2019-20.

Here’s how the action unfolded on Wednesday:

Delhi resumed the day’s play on the overnight score of 10/0, needing 337 runs more to register a special win. Kunal Chandela, who scored 75, and Hiten Dalal, who scored 82, laid a solid foundation, putting up a 163-run stand for the opening wicket.

While the two got out in the space of six runs, skipper Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana joined the forces and made sure Delhi did not lose the momentum, adding 118 runs.

Although Shorey got out for 44, Rana slammed an unbeaten 105 off 68 balls, hitting a six to complete his hundred and seal Delhi’s win which helped them bag six points.

All Gujarat needed were 7.1 overs on the final day of the match as they beat Punjab by 110 runs to pocket six points.

Punjab, who resumed the day’s play at 87/4, needing 133 runs more to win the match, but Arzan Nagwaswalla, who had scalped a five-wicket haul in the first innings, and Chintan Gaja shared the spoils as Punjab lost the last six wickets for 22 runs and were bowled out for 109.

While Nagwaswalla picked up his second fifer of the match, Chintan Gaja got four wickets in the second innings.

Maharashtra too sealed a win and bagged six points following a win over Assam. Assam, who resumed the final day’s play at 12/0, needing 284 runs more to win, were bundled out for 78 in the first session as Maharashtra sealed a 218-run win in Guwahati.

Maharashtra had conceded a first-innings lead, but Jay Pande’s hundred in the second innings helped Maharashtra post 365/9d on the board.

Ashay Palkar and Mukesh Choudhary then ran through the Assam batting order, with the former picking up six wickets and the latter scalping three wickets to seal Maharashtra’s win.

Jharkhand needed 127 runs more to beat Uttarakhand on the final day and they chased down the target to seal a six-wicket win in Ranchi.

Kumar Deobrat, who had top-scored in the first-innings, helping Jharkhand secure a lead, once again led Jharkhand’s charge, scoring an unbeaten 93 while Kumar Suraj, after scoring 57 in the first innings, chipped in with 49 runs in the second innings as Jharkhand picked up six points.

At the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai completed a stunning recovery after conceding 625/8d against Uttar Pradesh and bagged three points. Sarfaraz Khan, who scored an unbeaten 132, and Siddhesh Lad, who scored 98, revived Mumbai on the third day.

On the final day, Sarfaraz continued from where he had left on the previous day, and completed an unbeaten triple ton while Aditya Tare scored 97. The two added 179 runs together before Tare got out.

Sarfaraz was then joined by Shams Mulani and they put on a 150-run partnership during which Mumbai surpassed Uttar Pradesh’s first-innings total. While Mualni got out for a fine 65, Sarfaraz completed his 300 in some style, hitting a six before the teams shook hands, with Mumbai scoring 688/7d.

Nagaland, meanwhile, put up a solid show with the bat in the second innings. Skipper and wicketkeeper Rongsen Jonathan’s unbeaten 200, Shrikant Mundhe’s 94 and Stuart Binny’s 81 helped Nagaland score 444/4. However, Bihar walked away with three points on the back of their first-innings lead of 343 runs.

The story was no different in the Goa versus Chandigarh game. While Goa put up a much improved batting performance in the second innings, scoring 253/6, Chandigarh who secured a 239-run lead after scoring 580/7 in the first innings, bagged three points as the match ended in a draw.

Saurashtra came tantalizingly close to seal a win but had to settle for a draw against Madhya Pradesh. Saurashtra, who had secured a 64-run lead in the first innings, declared at 256/9 in the second innings on the back of Harvik Desai’s 115 and Cheteshwar Pujara’s 69. Madhya Pradesh were 166/2 at one stage but lost 5 wickets in the space of 19 runs. However, the MP side managed to secure a draw after scoring 223/9.

Meanwhile, in Dharamsala, like on the day three, there was no play due to rain and the teams involved – Himachal Pradesh and Baroda – settled for a point each. Himachal had scored 496 batting first and before the rain intervened, Baroda had posted 150/2 on the board.