Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Fifth Round: Vidarbha register win on second day

By Ameya Tilak in

The Cheteshwar Pujara juggernaut continued to roll while Vidarbha defeated Bengal as the second day of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 fifth round came to an end.

Here’s how the action unfolded on Sunday:

The bowlers dominated the proceedings in Nagpur as Vidarbha, who resumed play at 89/3, sealed a nine-wicket win against Bengal. After securing a 42-run lead in the first innings, the defending champions bundled out Bengal for 99 as Aditya Sarvate scalped six wickets. Needing 58 runs to win, Vidarbha then chased the target in 13.5 overs to pocket six points.

Pujara, who had completed his 50th First Class hundred, notched up his seventh double hundred in Ranji Trophy, scoring 248, while Sheldon Jackson, who was batting on 99 at the close of play on the first day, scored 161 as Saurashtra posted 581/7d on the board against Karnataka. The two added 394 runs together before Jackson got out. Karnataka, who had to negotiate eight overs before stumps, lost Devdutt Padikkal to end the day at 13/1.

Mumbai, who had recovered from 129/5 to reach 284/6 on the opening day, added 204 runs to their overnight score, putting 488 runs on the board against Tamil Nadu in the first innings. While Aditya Tare, who is leading the side in the absence of Suryakumar Yadav, notched up a hundred, scoring 154 off 253 balls, Shashank Attarde scored 58. Tamil Nadu, in reply, were guided to 66/0 as Abhinav Mukund scored an unbeaten 52.

In Guwahati, Rishav Das, who got out for 99, and Gokul Sharma, who scored an unbeaten 50, guided Assam to 209/3 against Chhattisgarh, who scored 318 runs after put in to bat.

In the Nagaland versus Arunachal Pradesh game, hundreds from Shrikant Mundhe and Yogesh Takawale and half-centuries from Zhimomi and Sedezhalie powered Nagaland to 534/7d. Arunachal Pradesh ended the second day at 141/4, trailing Nagaland by 393 runs.

Andhra, who had bowled out Hyderabad for 225 on the first day, dominated the proceedings on the second day as their openers Prasanth Kumar, who scored 117 not out, and CR Gnaneshwar, who scored 73, guided the team to 237/1 before stumps.

In Agartala, Manisankar Murasingh and Ajoy Sarkar shared the spoils as Tripura bundled out Uttarakhand for 90. Before stumps, Tripura had scored 104 for the loss of two wickets. Bihar, after scoring 431 runs batting first, pushed Manipur on the backfoot, reducing them to 40/4 at stumps.

In Trivandrum, MD Nideesh scalped seven wickets as Kerala, who were restricted to 227 in the first innings, managed to take a first-innings lead after bowling out Punjab for 218. However, with Gurkeerat Singh scalped four wickets, Punjab then reduced Kerala to 88/5 before stumps.

Rajasthan’s Rituraj Singh picked up five wickets as Gujarat, who resumed play at the overnight score of 258/4, lost their last six wickets for 67 runs and were all out for 325. Manender Singh’s unbeaten 61 and Yash Kothari’s 45 then guided Rajasthan to 142/1 at stumps on the second day.

Railways, meanwhile, gained an upper hand over Madhya Pradesh. After bowling out Madhya Pradesh for 124, Railways secured a 120-run lead and then picked up two Madhya Pradesh wickets, conceding 47 runs before stumps.

In Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh scored 431 runs on the back of Mohammad Saif and Upendra Yadav’s hundreds against Baroda, who ended the day at 82/1.

Odisha, meanwhile, could only add 19 runs to their overnight score of 141/5 as Haryana’s Tinu Kundu scalped five wickets. However, Odisha still managed to secure a 70-run lead. Haryana then put up a solid show with the bat in the second innings, posting 218/5 on the board at stumps.

In Palam, Parvez Rasool missed out on a double hundred, but Jammu and Kashmir, who scored 360 runs in the first innings, reduced Services to 238/9.

Meanwhile, Maharashtra coasted to 434 against Jharkhand as Azim Kazi and Vishant More scored hundred. While the former scored 140, the latter scored 120. Jharkhand had to bat for an over and they lost two wickets in that period.

In a Plate Group clash, Sikkim, who were all out for 264 in the first innings, were in with a chance to secure a first-innings lead, but Bipul Sharma and Gurinder Singh dashed those plans, scoring 58 and 99 respectively, as Chandigarh recovered from 188/6 to reach 338/8 at stumps, securing a first-innings lead.

In Pondicherry, Goa won the battle of securing the first-innings lead despite Paras Dogra’s 194. Pondicherry were 157/9 but Dogra put up a tremendous fight and added 103 runs for the last wicket. But Felix Alemao, who scalped six wickets, dismissed Dogra eight short of a double hundred as Goa managed to bowl out Pondicherry for 260 to take a 10-run lead.

In Kolkata, Mizoram’s decision of electing to bowl did not work as hundreds from Dippu, DR Ravi Teja and Sanjay powered Meghalaya to 414/4.