Show me in: हिंदी
The Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Third Round: Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Pondicherry register wins

By BCCI Desk in

Manipur, Delhi, Pondicherry sealed victories while Uttar Pradesh defeated Saurashtra as the third round of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 concluded on Saturday.

Here’s a wrap of how the action unfolded:

Rex Singh returned with the figures of 6/58 as Manipur bagged six points following an 84-run win against Arunachal Pradesh. While Rahul Dalal and Akhilesh Sahani helped Arunachal Pradesh recover from 49/6, it could not stop Manipur’s march towards victory.

If it was Rex for Manipur, it was Saurabh Kumar for Uttar Pradesh. The left-arm spinner scalped six wickets as Saurashtra, who needed to bat out the day with all the wickets in hand, were bowled out for 120 as Uttar Pradesh registered an innings and 72 runs to bag seven points in Rajkot.

Pondicherry too sealed a victory and added seven more points to their account following their innings and 272-run win against Mizoram at the Videocon Ground in Kolkata.

Delhi, who needed 61 runs to seal a victory on the final day against Hyderabad, completed a seven-wicket win. While Shikhar Dhwan scored a hundred in the first innings, Ishant Sharma and Simarjeet Singh scalped eight and seven wickets each in the match as Delhi picked up six points.

Punjab, meanwhile, bagged three points against Vidarbha as Shubman Gill and Gurkeerat Mann scored hundreds. Sanvir Singh chipped in with 82 runs and put up a 187-run stand for the opening wicket. While Gill scored 100, Mann slammed 149 off 101 balls as Punjab scored 408/5 before the teams decided to shake hands.

Bengal and Maharashtra too gained three points at the Eden Gardens and MCA Cricket Stadium respectively. While Bengal settled for a draw against Andhra, who were bowled out for 181, conceding 108-run lead, Maharashtra managed to bag three points on the back of their three-run lead against Chhattisgarh.

The Jharkhand-Haryana game also ended in a draw, with the former bagging three points after 408/5 following Haryana’s 371. Kumar Deobrat, opening the batting, scored 161 while Jharkhand skipper Saurabh Tiwary scored unbeaten 152.

Odisha, meanwhile, completed an outright win over Uttarakhand and bagged seven points. Odisha, who needed 60 runs to win the match, secured a ten-wicket win. While Basant Mohanty and Suryakant Pradhan six and five wickets each in the first and second innings respectively, Shantanu Mishra scored a ton in the first innings.

Karnataka and Tamil Nadu, meanwhile, had to settle for a point each. Karnataka, facing Himachal Pradesh, put up a much-improved show with the bat in the second innings. But Himachal Pradesh’s first-innings lead of 114 runs helped them pocket three points.

Tamil Nadu, who had conceded a first-innings lead against Madhya Pradesh after being bowled out for 149, scored 377/7 in the second innings on the back of Kaushik Gandhi’s patient 154 off 340 balls. But Madhya Pradesh, who had scored 333 in the first innings, walked away with three points.

In Patna, Goa - who secured a 104-run lead against Bihar – scoring 470 on the back of Suyash Prabhudessai’s 135, picked up three points. Jammu and Kashmir, who scored 460/5d in the first innings as Shubham Khajuria and Abdul Samad scored hundreds, secured three points against Assam, who scored 82/2 in 29 overs. 

Chandigarh, meanwhile, sealed an innings and a 189-run win against Meghalaya in Mangaldai. After scoring 455/9d in the first innings, Chandigarh bowled out Meghalaya for 148 and 118 in the first and second innings respectively. While Shreshth Nirmohi scalped five wickets in the first innings, Gurinder Singh picked four wickets in the second innings as Chandigarh won in under three days.

In Bhubaneshwar, Nagaho and Imliwati scalped four wickets each as Nagaland, who had secured a first-innings lead of 22 runs on the back of Stuart Binny’s hundred, bowled out Sikkim for 133 in the second innings. Needing 113 runs to win, Shrikant Mundhe scored a quickfire 45 off 23 balls and Yogesh Takawale chipped in with an unbeaten 43 off 38 balls as Nagaland as chased down the target in 12.2 overs to register a win.