Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Seventh Round: Gujarat, Karnataka register wins on final day

By Ameya Tilak in

Gujarat held their nerve to beat Vidarbha while Karnataka stormed their way towards victory on the final day of the seventh round of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20.

Here’s how the action unfolded on Thursday:

It was Parthiv Patel, who had helped Gujarat secured the first-innings lead, and the captain-wicketkeeper once again put up his hand, scoring an unbeaten 41 as Gujarat sealed a four-wicket win over Vidarbha to pocket six points. However, it was not an easy chase as Vidarbha had reduced Gujarat to 118/6. But Parthiv and Chirag Gandhi joined hands as Gujarat chased down the 179-run target.

Maharashtra completed a hat-trick of wins after they beat Tripura by five wickets on the back of skipper Ankit Bawane’s unbeaten 61 and Swapnil Gugale’s 57. Azim Kazi, meanwhile, chipped in with a quickfire 31 on the final day as Maharashtra chased down the 204-run target to pick up six points.

Odisha and Karnataka, meanwhile, bagged seven points each following outright wins over Assam and Railways respectively.

Assam were 124/0 in the second innings, but were all out for 195 as Suryakant Pradhan, Rajesh Mohanty and Debabrata Pradhan shared the spoils to give Odisha an innings and a three-run win.

At the Karnail Singh Stadium, Karnataka managed to tame rain and Railways to seal a ten-wicket win. After S Sharath’s 62 helped Karnataka take a 29-run lead, Ronit More ran through the Railways batting line-up, scalping six wickets in the second innings, as Karnataka bundled out Railways for 79. Rohan Kadam and Devdutt Padikkal chased down the target in 8.2 overs to give Karnataka a win.

Services bagged six points following their 118-run win over Jharkhand in Palam. Jharkhand put up a fight in the second innings as Utkarsh Singh and Kumar Suraj scored 63 and 103 runs respectively. However, Pulkit Narang derailed the Jharkhand innings, bowling them out for 267 on the final day of the match.

Haryana and Chandigarh, meanwhile, pocketed three points each against Uttarakhand and Pondicherry respectively on the basis of their first-innings lead.

After the rain much of the game’s proceedings, Chandigarh bowled out Pondicherry for 113 on the back of Shreshth Nirmohi’s seven-wicket haul and took a 21-run lead. In the second innings, Chandigarh scored 102/3 before the teams settled for a draw.

In Dehradun, Agrim Tiwari picked up six wickets but Haryana skipper Harshal Patel’s quickfire 50 helped Haryana secure a 33-run lead against Uttarakhand. The Tanmay Srivastava-led side scored 109/3 in the second innings before the teams shook hands for a draw.

Himachal Pradesh and Mumbai shared a point each after the three successive days of no play in Dharamsala. Mumbai had scored 372/5 on the first day following Sarfaraz Khan’s unbeaten 226.

The Bengal versus Delhi match at the Eden Gardens also ended with both the teams pocketing a point each. In a match which was hampered by rain and bad light, Bengal scored 318 runs and Delhi responded with 242/7.

Mizoram, meanwhile, bagged three points following their first-innings lead over Nagaland. Batting first, Nagaland were all out for 243 and before the rain played spoilsport, Mizoram scored 318/3 as Taruwar Kohli and skipper Pawan K B scored hundreds.

In Jammu, after the two days of no cricketing action, Chhattisgarh chose to declare on their first-day’s score of 270/4. The trio of Sumit Ruikar, Veer Pratap Singh and Ajay Mandal then shared the spoils as Chhattisgarh went on to bag three points after bowling out Jammu and Kashmir for 168.

Bihar too picked up three points on the back of their first-innings lead of 29 runs against Meghalaya, who were bowled out for 179. Bihar scored 361/4 in the second innings on the back of Yashaswi Rishav’s 150 and Rahmat Ullah 105*. Meghalaya then scored 138/2.