Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

New Zealand ‘A’ beat India ‘A’ in third one-day to clinch series

By BCCI Desk in

New Zealand ‘A’ beat India ‘A’ by five runs in the third one-day at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Sunday and won the three-match series 2-1.

After electing to bowl, India ‘A’ strike early as Ishan Porel and Sandeep Warrier reduced New Zealand ‘A’ to 22/3. Glenn Phillips and Tom Blundell then added 46 runs together before the former got out for 35.

With Rahul Chahar and Axar Patel, dismissing Blundell and Cole McConchie respectively, New Zealand ‘A’ were in trouble, with the scorecard reading 105/6.

However, Mark Chapman and Todd Astle did a fine rebuilding job. While Chapman scored an unbeaten 110 off 98 balls, hitting 10 fours and a six, Astle scored 56 off 65 balls, stitching a 136-run partnership to guide New Zealand ‘A’ to 270/7.

India ‘A’ enjoyed a brisk opening stand in the chase as Prithvi Shaw and Ruturaj Gaikwad put up a 79-run partnership before the former got out after scoring a quickfire 55 from 38 balls with the help of 8 fours and a six.

Gaikwad, who scored 44, and Mayank Agarwal then added 47 runs together before India ‘A’ lost three wickets in the space of 11 runs.

While there was a 41-run stand between Ishan Kishan and Vijay Shankar, New Zealand ‘A’ struck twice in quick succession to dismiss Vijay Shankar and Krunal Pandya.

Kishan and Axar Patel then revived India ‘A’s hopes as the two added 69 runs together before Patel got out for 32 off 28 balls, with India ‘A’ needing 14 runs off 11 balls.

While Kishan scored an unbeaten 71, New Zealand ‘A’ managed to bowl out India ‘A’ for 265 to win the final match of the one-day series.

Brief Scores: New Zealand ‘A’ 270/7 (Mark Chapman 110*, Todd Astle 56; Ishan Porel 3/64) beat India ‘A’ 265 all out (Ishan Kishan 71*, Prithvi Shaw 55; Ajaz Patel 3/44) by five runs