Show me in: हिंदी
Board of Control for Cricket in India

Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Third Round: Day Two Wrap

By BCCI Desk in

Paras Dogra completed his ninth double hundred in Ranji Trophy while Ishant Sharma picked up four wickets as the second day of the third round of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 came to an end.

Here's how the action unfolded on Thursday:

Overnight rain and bad light meant that there was no play on the second day of the Vidarbha-Punjab game in Nagpur.

In Jamshedpur, during the Jharkhand versus Haryana game, only a few overs could be bowled where Haryana were 285/6.

Bengal, who resumed play at 241/4, could add only 48 runs to their overnight score as Andhra managed to restrict Bengal to 289, with C Stephen and K Sasikanth picking up four wickets each.

Pondicherry continued to dominate proceedings against Mizoram. Paras Dogra, who had completed a hundred on the first day, brought up a double hundred – his ninth in Ranji Trophy – while Suresh Kumar scored a quickfire 103 not out off 86 balls as Pondicherry declared at 458/8 and then reduced Mizoram to 30/4 before bad lights stopped play in Kolkata.

In a Group C match, Services were bowled out for 173 but managed to take a 47-run first-innings lead against Tripura, despite Manisankar Murasingh’s seven-wicket haul. In the second innings, Tripura were 16/1 at stumps on the second day.

Madhya Pradesh, meanwhile, ended the second day at 281/7, leading Tamil Nadu by 132 runs. While Madhya Pradesh were in a spot of bother after being reduced to 84/5, Rameez Khan and Venkatesh Iyer, who scored 87 and 88 respectively, added 112 runs together. Later, Mihir Hirwani scored an unbeaten 54 before stumps.

In New Delhi, Shikhar Dhawan’s 140 guided Delhi to 284 before Ishant Sharma and Simarjeet Singh ran through Hyderabad’s batting line-up. The two scalped four wickets each as Hyderabad were bowled out for 69. After enforcing follow-on, Delhi scalped two wickets in the second innings before the close of play.

Railways, meanwhile, secured a 152-run lead against Mumbai as skipper Karn Sharma’s unbeaten 112 guided Railways to 266. Before stumps, Mumbai were 64/3, with Ajinkya Rahane and Suryakumar Yadav batting on 3 and 15 respectively.

Odisha, who had bowled out Uttarakhand for 117, ended the second day at 145/6, securing a first-innings lead on the back of Shantanu Mishra’s unbeaten 54. In Jammu, Suryansh Raina’s 73 and Shubham Khajuria’s unbeaten 87 guided Jammu and Kashmir to 210/2 against Assam before the close of play.

Maharashtra, squaring off against Chhattisgarh in Pune, added 51 runs to their overnight score of 238. At stumps, Chhattisgarh were 131/3, with skipper Harpreet Singh Bhatia batting on 59 with Amandeep Khare, who was on 9.

In Rajkot, Uttar Pradesh put up a solid response after Saurashtra scored 331 batting first. At stumps, Uttar Pradesh had scored 222/3, with Aryan Juyal scoring 52, Aksh Deep Nath scoring 80 not out and Mohammad Saif batting on 41.

Manipur, who had secured a first-innings lead of 53 runs after bowling out Arunachal Pradesh for 143, were 80/3, with an overall lead of 133 runs. In Patna, meanwhile, Bihar put up 326 runs on the board after Babul Kumar’s 160 and then with skipper Ashutosh Aman striking twice, limited Goa to 65/2 in 24 overs before stumps.

In the Sikkim versus Nagaland game in Bhubaneswar, the game did not resume on Thursday. While Sikkim had scored 274, with Iqbal Abdulla scoring 94, Nagaland were 45/1 at the close of play on day one.

The Meghalaya versus Chandigarh match, which started on Thursday, saw Manan Vohra score 90 on the opening day to take Chandigarh post 168 runs on the board for the loss of four wickets.

In Mysore, Rishi Dhawan scored an unbeaten 72 as Himachal Pradesh ended the second day at 235/7, securing a first-innings lead after bowling out Karnataka for 166 on the opening day.

Gujarat, meanwhile, managed to set a challenging target of 268 against Kerala after scoring 210 in the second innings. While Kerala had a chance to limit Gujarat to a total below 200, Chintan Gaja and Siddharth Desai’s 50-run stand for the last wicket dashed Kerala’s plans.