bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

Dominant Karnataka clinch third title

The Karun Nair-led team beat Saurashtra by 41 runs

Karnataka reclaimed the Vijay Hazare Trophy by comprehensively beating Saurashtra in the 2017-18 final at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi. Propelled by Mayank Agarwal’s 90, the Karun Nair-led team set the opponents a 254-run target after being asked to bat. While Cheteshwar Pujara then anchored the Saurashtra chase with a 94-run knock, K Gowtham (3/27) and M Prasidh (3/37) bowled the team out for 212 to claim a 41-run win.

Karnataka lost Nair in the second over as Shaurya Sanandiya uprooted the captain’s stumps while KL Rahul was run out in the next over with the team on five for two. However, in-form batsman Agarwal shaped the innings with R Samarth to set the platform for a solid total. The pair gleaned runs off the Saurashtra attack to add 136 runs for the third wicket. The opener was on song as he drove and pulled the bowlers to build the innings. He was ably supported by Samarth in shifting the momentum in Karnataka’s favour.

However, Agarwal’s prolific run in the middle was ended by Jaydev Unadkat at the fence. The Saurashtra pacer pulled off a good airborne catch at the ropes to send back the opener. Six runs later Samarth, done in by the turn, was castled by Prerak Mankad.

While Pavan Deshpande worked to hold one end up, Stuart Binny was the next to be sent back by Mankad 20 runs later. Shreyas Gopal then added a useful 41 runs to the tally before he was run out for 31. Kamalesh Makwana then claimed the last four wickets to wrap-up the Karnataka innings for 253.

Chasing a respectable target, Samarth Vyas edged Prasidh to Rahul behind the stumps and Dharmendrasinh, who promoted up the order was bowled in the next leaving Saurashtra on 15 for two. Cheteshwar Pujara then joined Avi Barot in the middle and the pair added 62 runs to the total in an effort to rebuild until the opener perished taking the aerial route off Stuart Binny.

Wickets continued to fall at the other end while Pujara held one end up in an effort to keep the innings in the fray. Ravindra Jadeja departed looking to hit big, only to be caught near mid-off off Pavan Deshpande. Without a run added to the scoreline, Mankad and Arpit Vasavada were sent back by Gowtham in the next leaving Saurashtra wobbling at 101 for six. Chirag Jani then joined Pujara in keeping the innings in the reckoning. The lower-order bat swung his bat to add 22 runs before he was run out. Sent back by his skipper while looking for a second, Jani couldn’t make it back to his crease in time.

Unadkat followed him back to the dressing room with the team on 135 for eight. Fighting an uphill battle, the skipper then attacked with gusto. He creamed the bowlers over the fence and beyond the ropes as he looked to close in on the target with the tail-enders. He had added 65 runs for the ninth wicket until being run out by his opposite number six runs short of a century. After 12 runs, Prasidh rattled Sanandia’s stumps to take Karnataka to victory. 

Man of the Match: Mayank Agarwal

Click here for scorecard  

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Saurashtra end Andhra’s winning streak to enter final

Fifties by Ravindra Jadeja, Vasavada sets-up game; Dharmendra Jadeja picks 4/40

Saurashtra pulled off a 59-run win over Andhra to book their place opposite Karnataka in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017-18 final in New Delhi. Boosted by Ravindra Jadeja and Aript Vasavda’s half-centuries, the Cheteshwar Pujara-led team set the opponents a 256-run target. Dharmendra Jadeja (4/40) then helped wrap-up Andhra for 196 in the semi-final clash.

Defending 255, Shaurya Sanandia gave Saurashtra their first breakthrough with the wicket of Ashiwn Hebber with 21 runs on the board. Opener KS Bharat then stitched a 44-run stand with Hanuma Vihari before holing out to deep mid-wicket. The skipper then edged Prerak Mankad to the wicketkeeper and followed him back to the pavilion leaving the team on 71 for three. Ricky Bhui, who was looking to build the innings with B Sumanth departed looking for a single. Just as the partnership was taking shape, the middle-order bat, sent back by his partner, was run out by Ravindra Jadeja.

With DB Ravi Teja, Sumanth then looked to rebuild the innings and the duo added 59 runs for the fifth wicket until the latter looking to sweep D Jadeja over mid-wicket, was caught near the fence by substitute HR Barad. And with KV Sasikanth being adjudged lbw off the next ball, Andhra were wobbling at 150 for six. After 24 runs while Ravi Teja stood stoically at one end, Siva Kumar looking to sweep the spinner, only managed to hit the ball high in the air and was caught by Avi Barot. Later in the over, Karthik Raman too departed taking the aerial route leaving the side on 174 for eight.

Teja, who kept on losing partners, was bowled by Sanandia for 42 leaving Andhra on 190 for nine. In the next over, Kamlesh Makwana accounted for Ayyappa Bandaru to bowl the side out.

After winning the toss, Siva Kumar (2/19) had got Andhra off to a good start. The pacer bowled a tight line to keep the Saurashtra batsmen in check. He claimed Barot in his second over to leave the side on 11 for one and forced an edge from Jani in his next. Pushed on the back-foot by the pacer, Pujara and Samarth Vyas worked to revive the innings. Biding their time at the crease, the duo had put together 49 runs for the third wicket until the opener was bowled by Raman. The bowler followed up with the wicket of the Saurashtra skipper in his next to leave the team on 69 for four.

Vasavada then joined Ravindra Jadeja in rescuing the innings. The pair watchfully shaped the innings as they settled in. In a 113-run stand, they had taken Saurashtra to 182 when Raman struck again to end a flourishing partnership. While Vasavada was sent back by the bowler for 58, Ravindra Jadeja was run out in the next leaving the team on 183 for six.

Mankad then looked to carry the innings forward with the lower-order. He had built a 44-run partnership with Makwana until a fuller delivery from Bandaru uprooted the No 8 batsman’s stumps and castled D Jadeja off the next. 17 runs later Sasikanth removed Sanandia leaving the side on 244 for nine.

Mankad, who had been running out of partners then departed holing out to long on with five balls still left in the innings; ending the innings on 255.

Click here for scorecard: 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article