bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

India Women seal series with another massive win

Smriti Mandhana’s sparkling century, fifties from Harmanpreet & Veda flatten South Africa Women

With a thumping 178-run win the second ODI, India Women took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series in the ICC Women’s Championship against South Africa Women. While Smriti Mandhana (135 off 129) set-up the game with a sparkling century, a stable knock by Harmanpreet Kaur (55* off 69) and a late onslaught by Veda Krishnamurthy (51* off 33) put India in a commanding position. Defending the 302-run total, the Indian spinners bundled out SA for 124 after Jhulan Goswami set the tone by claiming her 200th ODI scalp.

Mandhana shaped the Indian innings with yet another well-paced knock in the second match to set the stage for a solid total. The opener posted her highest ODI score as she built the innings and helped lay a foundation for the batters to build on.

After losing her opening partner Punam Raut with 56 runs on the board, the left-hand bat was joined by Mithali Raj in adding 51 runs for the second wicket. After S Luus claimed the India captain, Harmanpreet joined forces with the opener to carry the momentum forward. Mandhana, who had missed out on a century in the first game, brought up the three-figure mark.

The Mandhana-Harmanpreet duo had taken the team to 241 when the opener was sent back by R Ntozakhe for 135. With 40 balls left in the innings, Krishnamurthy joined Harmanpreet in the middle. Capitalising on the platform set by the top-order, the duo gleaned runs off the SA attack. Krishnamurthy was particularly destructive as she took the attack to the bowlers to accelerate the flow of runs. Both batters remained unbeaten as they took India to a massive 302 for three.

Goswami then gave the visitors an early breakthrough with the wicket of L Wolvaardt, leaving the side on 32 for one. The India attack then continued to strike at regular intervals while Lizelle Lee strove to keep the innings in the reckoning. T Chetty was sent back by Rajeshwari Gayakwad five overs later leaving the hosts on 51 for two. A bit later Poonam Yadav struck; claiming A Steyn and S Luus off successive overs to leave SA on 68 for four. D van Niekerk was the next to return to the pavilion for a single digit score – trapped lbw by Gayakwad and three runs later C Tyron was run out.

Lee, who had been battling an uphill task was trapped lbw by Deepti Sharma leaving the side on 113 for seven and later in the over, the bowler castled A Khaka. Yadav the wrapped up the game with the wickets of M Klaas and R Ntozakhe.

Brief scorecard: India 302/3 in 50 overs (S Mandhana 135, Harmanpreet Kaur 55*, V Krishnamurthy 51*) beat South Africa 124/10 in 30.5 overs (L Lee 73, P Yadav 4/24, R Gayakwad 2/14, D Sharma 2/34, J Goswami 1/29) by 178 runs

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

India Women thrash South Africa Women by 88 runs

Smriti Mandhana stars with the bat; Jhulan Goswami (4/24) & Shikha Pandey (3/23) bowl India to victory

India Women got off to a winning start to their ICC Women’s Championship 2017-21 by beating South Africa women at their home ground. The Mithali Raj-led team posted a resounding 88-run win to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series. While Smriti Mandhana (84) helped set the hosts a stiff 214-run target, Jhulan Goswami (4/24) and Shikha Pandey (3/23) bowled SA out for 125 to claim victory.
With Punam Raut, Mandhana had put together 55 runs for the opening stand until the former was sent back by A Khaka. Mithali then joined the opener in laying the foundation for a solid total. Chipping away at the opponents the pair had taken India to 154 when Khaka struck again to end the flourishing partnership. The bowler accounted for the stylish opener while M Klaas claimed the India captain in the next to leave the visitors on 155 for three. 

With the fall of two quick wickets, SA found their way back into the innings and continued to keep the rest of the line up on a tight leash. Four runs later Veda Krishnamurthy was run out followed by Deepti Sharma a bit later leaving India on 168 for five. Harmanpreet Kaur, who was the next to return to the pavilion for 16 off 33. M Kapp dealt a double blow by accounting for Harmanpreet and Sushma Verma to leave the side on 196 for seven. Goswami and Pandey then took India to 213 for seven in their stipulated overs. 

Defending the respectable total, Pandey gave India their first breakthrough. The pacer claimed L Lee to leave SA on 13 for one and in her next over sent back T Chetty. Four runs later she got the better of M du Preez to leave SA reeling on 23 for three. A few overs later L Wolvaardt was dismissed by Poonam Yadav, while Goswami followed up with the wicket of C Tyron to leave SA wobbling on 57 for five. While the senior pacer ran through the remaining SA lineup, Yadav dismissed M Kapp and SA’s top-scorer, D van Niekerk (41) was dismissed by Rajeshwari Gayakwad as they bowled SA out for 125 runs.

Brief scorecard – India 213/7 in 50 overs (S Mandhana 84, M Raj 45, M Kapp 2/26, A Khaka 2/47) beat SA 125/10 in 43.2 overs (D van Niekerk 41, J Goswami 4/24, S Pandey 3/23, P Yadav 2/22) by 88 runs.    

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article