bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

BCCI congratulates Jhulan Goswami

The fast bowler is now the leading wicket taker in Women's ODIs

Media Advisory

The BCCI congratulates Jhulan Goswami for becoming the leading wicket taker in Women’s ODIs. The Indian legend went past Cathryn Fitzpatrick, the former Australia bowler on Tuesday in the Quadrangular Series match against hosts South Africa in Potchefstroom.

Jhulan took three wickets for only 20 runs and played a key role in India’s seven-wicket win. She created the record when she trapped Raisibe Ntozakhe leg-before to register her 181st wicket.

The lanky bowler, who made her international debut as an 18-year-old back in 2002 against England Women, is an idol to many youngsters in India and has set a benchmark for fast bowling in the country. The cricketer from Bengal led India in 25 ODIs from 2008-2011 and has represented the country in 10 Tests, 153 ODIs and 60 T20Is.

She was named the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year in 2007. In 2010, Jhulan was conferred with the Arjuna Award and she became the second Indian woman cricketer after Diana Edulji to receive the prestigious Padma Shri in 2012.


CommentsBack to article

Shami & Shreyas Iyer added to Indian Team

Media Advisory

Mohammed Shami & Shreyas Iyer included in the Indian team for Dharamsala Test against Australia

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met earlier today to add fast bowler Mohammed Shami and batsman Shreyas Iyer in the India Cricket Team for the final Test of the four-match Paytm Test series against Australia.

The team is as follows:

Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, W Saha (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Shami.



CommentsBack to article