bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Karn Sharma takes five as India A win third one-day

Hosts take 1-0 lead with two games left

India ‘A’ cantered to a six-wicket win over New Zealand ‘A’ after bundling the visitors out for 143 in the third game in Vizag. Karn Sharma wrecked the middle order to finish with five for 22 while Deepak Hooda picked two wickets to help put the hosts in a commanding position. Although India ‘A’ then lost three quick wickets, Vijay Shankar complimented by Shreyas Iyer and Hooda took the home team to the finish line. With a comprehensive win in the third one-day game, India ‘A’ now lead the five-match series 1-0.

Earlier, Hooda sent back George Worker for 22 to end the opening partnership for 39 after the visitors opted to bat. Having made an early dent in the lineup, the Indians continued to strike at regular intervals. 16 runs later, Basil Thampi dismissed Colin Munro and five overs later Shankar castled Glenn Phillips to leave NZ ‘A’ on 74 for three. Henry Nicholls and Tom Bruce’s efforts to rebuild the innings were ended by Karn, who claimed the latter to leave the visitors on 97 for four.

The No 4 bat then worked to forge a stand with Colin de Grandhomme but the leg-spinner claimed Nicholls to end the blossoming stand for 37. The next three NZ ‘A’ batsmen were sent back for naught; Shahbaz Nadeem caught Tom Seifert off his own bowling while Karn claimed the next two to leave NZ ‘A’ tottering on 138 for eight. And three runs later he bowled de Grandhomme to complete his five-wicket haul. In the next over, Hooda disrupted Ferguson’s stumps to bowl the opponents out in 37.1 overs.

Chasing the 144-run target, Prithvi Shaw was sent back by Todd Astle leaving the home team on 10 for one. After 13 runs, Mayank Agarwal was removed by Lockie Ferguson while Shreevats Goswami was bowled by Ish Sodhi in the next over.

With the team on 23 for three, Vijay Shankar joined Shreyas Iyer. The middle-order batsmen added runs at a quick pace until Sodhi struck again to end the fourth-wicket stand for 64 runs.

The leg-spinner claimed the key wicket of the India ‘A’ captain for 37 (off 36 balls). Comfortably placed with 57 runs needed off 192 deliveries, Hooda joined Vijay Shankar in taking India ‘A’ to the finish line. With an unbroken 57-run partnership, the duo helped the team seal the first win of the series.   

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Ind A-NZ A one-day ends in thrilling tie

Shreyas Iyer slams 90 off 73 balls; Ankeet Bawane hits unbeaten 83

Chasing 270 runs in the rain-reduced 42-overs-a-side game, Ankeet Bawane (83* off 80) helped the hosts to 269 for nine off the last ball to tie the scores. After the hosts were left reeling at 84 for five, Bawane partnered Shreyas Iyer (90 off 73) in reviving the innings. But after the end of the 126-run stand, Bawane put up a determined fight to take India ‘A’ closer to the target and equalled the scores with little support from the lower-order.

While Scott Kuggeleijn claimed openers – Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal - Shreevats Goswami was removed by Lockie Fergusan. Todd Astle then dealt a double blow with the wicket of Vijay Shankar and Deepak Hooda in one over to push the hosts on backfoot.

Skipper Iyer then led the counter-attack with Bawane. The stylish batsman clobbered the NZ ‘A’ bowling to seize the momentum back from the visitors while Bawane played the perfect foil and held one end up. Iyer smashed seven boundaries and five sixes as he brought India ‘A’ back into the game. However, with 60 runs required off 59 balls, Iyer was sent back by Astle.

With the home team on 210 for six and facing an uphill task, Karn Sharma joined Bawane in taking the chase forward, but Astle struck again to claim the lower-order bat with the team on 217 for seven. Shardul Thakur too didn’t last long and was sent back by Kuggeleijn for one. With the game precariously poised at 223 for eight, Shahbaz Nadeem took guard opposite Bawane. The pair added 36 runs to keep the innings in the fray but off the last ball of the penultimate over, Nadeem was bowled by Matt Henry for seven.

With 11 runs required off the last over, Siddharth Kaul joined Bawane in the middle. He took a single off the first ball. In a nail biting finish, Bawane strove to take his team across the line, albeit could only level scores.

Earlier, once NZ ‘A’ elected to bat, Kaul claimed George Worker with 25 runs on the board and followed up with the wicket of Colin Munro to leave the visitors on 37 for two. Glenn Phillips anchored the visiting side to a solid 269 for six with an unbeaten 140-run knock. He was involved in a 74-run partnership with Henry Nicholls followed by a 96-run partnership with Tom Bruce to boost the total. 

While Nadeem claimed Nicholls off his own bowling, Karn accounted for Bruce and Tom Blundell to leave the opposition on 216 for five. And Kaul followed up with the wicket of Kuggeleijn a while later. Phillips and Matt Henry saw their side complete their quota of overs and set India ‘A’ a respectable target. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article