bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Dhawal Kulkarni seals victory for India ‘B’ with hat-trick

Shikhar Dhawan slams 128 off 122 balls

India ‘B’ kicked off their Deodhar Trophy 2016-17 campaign with a 23-run win over India ‘A’ in the opening match of the one-day tournament. Dhawal Kulkarni’s hat-trick - Shardul Thakur off the last ball off the 47th over followed by wickets of a rampaging Deepak Hooda (46 off 27) and Siddharth Kaul - in the penultimate over helped the side bag a win. Earlier, Shikhar Dhawan’s well compiled 122-ball 128 complemented by half-centuries from Parthiv Patel and Ishank Jaggi helped set the match up for India ‘B’.

Asked to bat by Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv opening the batting with Dhawan, laid the foundation for a big total with a 93-run opening stand until Kaul struck. The pacer from Punjab, accounted for the India ‘B’ skipper and dismissed Shreevats Goswami off the last ball of the over to leave the side on 95 for two. Jaggi then forged a 103-run stand with the left-handed opener until he was sent back by Krunal Pandya. And 57 runs later, Hooda accounted for Dhawan who was looking to up the ante leaving the side on 255 for four with a little over nine overs left in the innings.

While the rest of the lineup made brisk and valuable contributions Kaul and Pandya struck at regular intervals and didn’t allow for partnerships to flourish. Kaul finished with a five-for as India ‘A’ restricted the Parthiv-led team to 327 for eight.

With a formidable total to attain, Mayank Agarwal and Mandeep Singh put together 45 runs until Axar Patel castled the latter. Kulwant Khejroliya then followed up with the wicket of the opener from Karnataka to leave India ‘A’ on 57 for two. Manoj Tiwary then joined forces with Ambati Rayudu to add 79 runs for the third wicket until he was sent back by the pacer.

Rayudu, continued to hold up one end and kept the side in the chase even as wickets fell at regular intervals at the other end. Rishabh Pant was caught by A Karnewar off his own bowling 49 runs later. The spinner also accounted for Pandya a while later to leave India ‘A’ on 233 for five and in his next claimed the vital wicket of the No 3 batsman. With the team on 250 for six with a little over seven overs left, Hooda continued to fight with the lower-order. The swashbuckling batsman took the attack to the bowlers. Axar sent back Harbhajan and Shardul joined the hard-hitting bat in the middle. However, he was sent back for an 8-ball 17 by his Mumbai team-mate leaving the side on 300 for eight with 18 balls left. Kulkarni then bowled the side to victory with the wickets of Hooda and Kaul.  

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Tamil Nadu lift Vijay Hazare Trophy

Bengal bowled out for 180; Karthik slams ton

Tamil Nadu claimed the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the fifth time with a 37-run win over Bengal at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium. TN who had last won the premier domestic one-day tournament in 2009-10, had shared the title with Uttar Pradesh in 2004-05.

Powered by Dinesh Karthik’s determined century, TN set the opposition a 218-run target even as the Ashoke Dinda-led attack put-up a disciplined performance to keep the line-up in check. The TN bowling attack complemented by good fielding then bowled Bengal out for 180 to clinch victory.

After Vijay Shankar elected to bat, Dinda claimed three of the top five TN batsmen in his longish first spell while Mohammed Shami, who was in the team for Syan Gosh accounted for Baba Aparajith to leave the side on 49 for four in the 11th over.

Ganga Sridhar Raju was the first to be sent back, done in by the bounce while Dinda knocked by Kaushik Gandhi’s off-stump as the ball took the inside edge and hit the woodwork. Karthik who walked in at 26 for two, then got off the mark with a boundary. The highest run-scorer of the tournament showed intent as he held the fort even as wickets continued to fall at regular intervals.

With TN on 36, Baba Aparajith was adjudged lbw off Shami. 13 runs later, Dinda forced an edge from Vijay Shankar through to the wicketkeeper to send the opposition on the backfoot. However, Karthik continued to fight back and played some crisp shots as he found the gaps to keep the scoreboard ticking. He was complemented by Baba Indrajith in rebuilding the wobbly innings. The pair put together 85 runs for the fifth wicket until Indrajith was run out.

Karthik the looked to stitch a stand with young MS Washington Sundar as he shaped the TN innings patiently. However, looking for a non-existent single, Sundar, sent back by the senior partner too was run out at the non-striker’s end.

Karthik soon reached his century with a reverse-sweep as he carried the innings forward with Aswin Crist. However, he soon lost another partner as Aswin edged Kanisk Sheth to the ‘keeper leaving the side on 200 for seven. 12 runs later Shami dealt a double blow by claiming M Mohammed and R Sai Kishore. With the last batsman for company the middle-order bat strove to add useful runs however, was out hit wicket with 25 balls left in the innings. Looking for a big hit, the batsman dislodged the bails in the follow through and the remarkable innings came to an unfortunate end for 112 runs.

With a modest total on the board, Shreevats Goswami and AR Eswaran opened the innings for Bengal. However, with just four runs on the board, Eswaran was run out while Aswin knocked back Agviv Pan's off-stump. That brought to the crease skipper, Manoj Tiwary. With the opener he added 33 runs until Goswami struck Rahil Shah towards the midwicket region and Vijay Shankar took a superb catch to leave Bengal on 37 for three.

With the early strikes the match was hanging in the balance as there was little choose between both sides at the stage. Sudip Chatterjee, who then took guard opposite his skipper strove to keep Bengal in the chase. He had stitched a 31-run stand with Manoj when the captain was bowled by his opposite number. Chatterjee then worked with Anustup Mujumdar to keep the side in the game. Playing watchfully the pair had added 65 runs fifth wicket until Mujumdar was given out lbw coming down the track to Aparajith.

Facing an unphill task, Chatterjee looked to strive on but 10 runs later found his stumps dismantled by Kishore after compiling 58 runs. With the fall of the last specialist batsman leaving the team on 143 for six, the balance tipped in TN’s favour. Having hit a big six, in the previous over, Shami looking to go for another big hit stepped out to Shah and was stumped for eight. 16 runs later, Pragyan Ojha too departed taking the aerial route while Dinda was castled by Aswin, leaving the team on 172 for nine. Amir Gani, who had toiled to keep the innings afloat, claimed by Mohammed to wrap-up the game.  

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article