bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Tamil Nadu beat Baroda to enter final

Sai Kishore and Dinesh Karthik star in TN's six-wicket victory

Tamil Nadu sailed into the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016-17 final with a six-wicket win against Baroda at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi. The TN spin attack - R Sai Kishore (4/59), MS Washington Sundar (2/20) and Rahil Shah (2/36) restricted the opponents to 219 after Baroda elected to bat. Chasing a competitive target, Dinesh Karthik then set up the chase with a patiently compiled 77 (off 107) while skipper Vijay Shankar took the team across the line with an unbeaten half-century.

Earlier, the openers – Kedar Devdhar and Aditya Waghmode - bided their time at the crease to get the team off to a steady start. The pair had put together 92 runs at little over four runs an over until Devdhar pulled Sai Kishore towards square-leg and departed for 46. Sundar dealt a double blow that reduced Baroda to 123 for three. After the young spinner caught the opener off his own bowling, he disrupted Deepak Hooda’s stumps later in the over. 15 runs later a superb catch by M Mohammed in the deep mid-wicket region sent back Krunal Pandya, who was looking for a big hit off Shah. And Yusuf Pathan too departed taking the aerial route to the left-arm spinner off the next ball pegging the team back further.

At 138 for five in the 33rd over, Pinal Shah joined Irfan Pathan as Baroda needed to up their ante. But then a disciplined bowling display kept the batters tied down. The duo added 44 runs for the sixth wicket until the skipper was sent back by Sai Kishore a little over ten overs later. Carrying on, Shah took the team to 212 with Swapnil Singh until he was sent back by Aswin Crist and in the next over, Sai Kishore dismantled the lower-order bat’s stumps. Lukeman Meriwala who had hit the spinner for a six over long on was stumped a ball later leaving the team on 218 for nine. With three balls left in the innings, the pacer accounted for Atit Sheth to bowl Baroda out for 219.

Chasing the modest target, TN lost both openers early in the innings and were left on 35 for two. While Kaushik Gandhi edged Sheth to the wicketkeeper, Ganga Sridhar Raju was bowled by the pacer. Dinesh then joined Baba Aparajith in building the foundation for the chase. The wicketkeeper-batsman diligently anchored the innings to keep the chase on course.

The Aparajith-Karthik pair watchfully stitched a 60-run partnership with singles and twos to keep the match evenly poised. After the top-order bat departed taking the aerial route off Soeeb Tai, the captain joined the experienced No. 4 batsman in carrying the chase forward. The duo steadily chipped into the Baroda attack and seized the momentum from the opposition. With an unhurried 88-run stand for the fourth wicket they tipped the balance in TN’s favour. With the team on 183, Dinesh was bowled by Sheth.
Sundar then joined Vijay Shankar in taking the team to the target. They milked the Baroda bowlers to seal the win with 15 balls to spare. The TN captain was unbeaten on 53 while the middle-order batsman was not out on 26 as they took the team to the final.  

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Jharkhand, Bengal qualify for semi-finals

Maharashtra and Vidarbha knocked out in the quarter-finals

Bengal chased down a 319-run target with a ball to spare against Maharashtra in the quarter-final to keep their campaign for the Vijay Hazare Trophy alive. MS Dhoni-led Jharkhand cantered into the last four of the ongoing tournament with a comprehensive six-wicket win against Vidarbha in Delhi in a low-scoring game.

QF3 - Vidarbha vs Jharkhand

After electing to bat first, Vidarbha were left reeling at 18 for the loss of four wickets in the seventh over of the game. Monu Kumar accounted for JM Sharma to set the tone of the innings. Varun Aaron then followed up with the wicket of Faiz Fazal in the next, while SK Wath was run out later in the over with the team on nine. Monu then sent back Ambati Rayudu to provide Jharkhand a vital breakthrough and tightened the noose around the opposition. Abhishek Chourasia then joined Ganesh Satish in adding 24 runs for the fifth wicket until he was trapped lbw by Rahul Shukla. R Jangid, who then came to the crease put up a fight. After his partnership with the Satish for 38 runs was ended by Kaushal Singh and seven runs later A Karnewar too returned to the pavilion; he found and able ally in RN Gurbani.

Jangid and Gurbani added 61 runs for the eighth wicket to take team past the three-figure mark and extend the innings to enable the team to bat their full quota of overs. However, with the side on 148 Jangid was run out for 62.

Pratyush Singh and Ishan Kishan then set the chase on course with a 68-run opening stand until the former was sent back by RD Thakur who bowled Kishan a bit later. Kumar Deobrat and Suarabh Tiwary returned to the pavilion after contributing 17 runs each leaving the side on 116 for four. Ishank Jaggi (41*) and MS Dhoni (18*) took the team to victory with a 49-run unbroken stand.

QF4 – Bengal vs Maharashtra

Bengal emerged winners in the high-scoring contest at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi as they beat Maharashtra by four wickets. While a total of 324 runs were scored at the Palam Ground in the third quarter final, a whopping 638 runs were scored in the fourth quarter-final.

After a modest start to the innings, the onslaught by the middle-order and the lower middle-order helped Maharashtra set Bengal a 319-run target. Having elected to bat first, the Kedar Jadhav-led team lost Ankit Bawane and NS Shaikh early in the innings and were 56 for two in the 16th over. Ruturaj Gaikwad who had held up one end was sent back Syan Gosh 40 runs later. Kedar Jadhav who then looked to up the ante and had survived a couple of chances during his knock, stitched a 52-run stand with Rahul Tripathi to set the innings on course. After the departure of the skipper with the team on 148, Tripathi launched into the opposition with Nikhil Naik. The pair clobbered the Bengal bowlers all over the park. They added 116 runs at a quick pace to grab the momentum from the opposition and set up the game.

Their blitzkrieg ended with Tripathi being sent back by Gosh for 95 while Naik was accounted for by Aamir Gani in the next. However, Shirkant Mundhe (20* off 10) and SM Kazi (20* of 12) too played cameos to take Maharashtra past 300 and set Bengal a stiff target.

Mundhe then struck early. He accounted for A Eswaran to leave Bengal on 25 for one. Agniv Pan then joined Shreevats Goswami in laying a foundation for the chase. The pair put together 81 runs until Kazi castled the No 3 bat. Tiwary then joined the opener to carry the innings forward. Jadhav then ended the blossoming partnership by trapping the opener lbw and a bit later also accounted for his opposite number to leave Bengal on 187 for four.

With the match precariously poised, Anustup Mujumdar joined forces with Sudip Chatterjee to take the game to the opposition. The pair batted determinedly and attacked with gusto to keep pace with the asking run rate. They clobbered the Maharashtra bowlers to tip the balance in Bengal’s favour as they built a 117-run stand.

However, with the match hanging in the balance with 15 runs needed to win, Mujumdar departed taking the aerial route off Mundhe in the penultimate over and Shaikh took a good catch. Chatterjee carried on with Kanishk Sheth and hit a six of the fifth ball of the over to take the side within sniffing distance of a win. With seven runs needed off the last over, Kazi who was handed the ball conceded two off the first two balls and dislodged Sheth’s bails off the third. But Gani, who then took guard picked two and followed up with boundary to take his side into the semi-finals with a ball to spare.  

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article