bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Punjab lift the CK Nayudu Trophy 2016-17

Skipper Karan Kaila misses out on Perfect 10

With an emphatic 101-run win against Andhra, Punjab claimed the Under-23 CK Nayudu Trophy, 2016-17. After claiming a five-for in the first innings, captain Karan Kaila claimed nine wickets in the second to bowl his side to victory in the Elite Group final. While the skipper’s performance helped clinch the game in under three days, Himanshu Rana and N Chaudhary’s gritty half-centuries in the second innings helped tip the balance in Punjab’s favour.

Electing to bat first at the Dhruv Pandove Stadium in Patiala, Punjab were bowled out for 144 on the first day of the bowler dominated four-day match. After a 63-run opening stand between Prabjot Singh (24 off 64) and Shivluv Sabharwal (38 off 69) the line-up crumbled. The openers were sent back in successive overs by Bhimrao and A Vinaykumar.

While No 4 bat Anmolpreet Singh held up one end with a 43-ball 42, Chikkam Kishore and Vinaykumar dismantled the lineup. The pair finished with four wickets apiece while Bhimrao took two.
The Kaila-led attack then ran through the Andhra lineup. They had left Andhra reeling at 91 for eight at stumps on the first day. They returned the next day to skittle Andhra out for 117.

Kaila picked five for 27 while Vinay Choudhary took four for 23 to bowl Punjab to a 27-run first innings lead. The Punjab batsmen then put up a better performance in their second innings to build on the lead and set Andhra a stiff 253-run target. Although Prabjot was sent back for naught in the first over, the middle-order stitched useful stands to build the innings.

Middle-order bat Rana was the mainstay of the lineup with a 141-ball 67 which helped his side gain an upper-hand. While Rana's stoic knock kept the innings in fray, N Chaudhary's 67-ball 51 and Choudhary's 41-ball 35 helped Punjab put the team in a commanding position. While the Punjab batsmen put up a determined performance, Vinaykumar finished the innings with six for 97 while Bhimrao picked three for 33.
Kaila claimed three wickets early and left Andhra reeling at 31 for three at stumps on the second day. The Punjab skipper then continued to wreck the Andhra lineup on the penultimate day. While M Pranith (43 off 56) strove to keep the Andhra innings afloat wickets fell at regular intervals. Lower down the order, Bhimrao too made 50-ball 28 in a effort to extend the innings until he was sent back by the Punjab captain.

Choudhary picked the sole wicket of Siva Charan Singh while Kaila finished with nine for 80 to take his match tally to 14 wickets.

In the Plate group, Karnataka beat Uttar Pradesh by 117 runs to emerge winners for the third place. The victory will elevate Karnataka U-23’s to the elite group in the next season (2017-18). Lifted by Bharath KN's 70-ball 60-run knock, Karnataka posted 228 in the first innings. UP's Vishal Choudhary claimed six for 63 in the innings.

While Shubham Agarwal then made a gritty 82-ball 43 to keep the UP lineup afloat, Suchith J (4/26) and Pradeep T (5/27) bowled the side out for a mere 127.

Adding to the 101-run lead, Karnataka posted 192 runs before being bowled out in the second innings. Opener Nischal D top-scored a 102-ball 51, while the middle-order made useful double-digit contributions to set UP a stiff 294-run target. Suchith then claimed six for 74 to bowl UP out for 176 and take his team to a comprehensive win. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

East Zone crowned Syed Mushtaq Ali Inter-Zonal champions

Jaggi, Virat Singh star in victory against West Zone

East Zone emerged champions in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Inter-zonal T20, 2017 in the new inter-zonal league format. Chasing 150 in their last game of the tournament, Virat Singh (58*) and Ishank Jaggi (56) helped the Manoj Tiwary-led side to an eight-wicket win against West Zone.

Jaggi, who has carried his form from Ranji Trophy into the T20s, scored his third half-century in four matches to guide the chase along with young Virat Singh. The youngster, who was playing in only his second game of the tournament posted his second consecutive half-century.

“This is the first time we are playing the zonal T20 (Syed Mushtaq Ali in a zonal format) and East zone have created history by becoming champions. If there is a zonal T20 again we will try to see that the trophy remains with us,” Jaggi said while reflecting on the tournament.
“The most satisfactory thing was that we became champions, because when we came into the tournament we were underdogs. Manoj bhaiya (Tiwary) and Rajiv Kumar, who is our coach guided us. They told us that we have to play good cricket, not worry about the results and play as a unit. We got into the groove in the first game and carried the momentum forward,” he added.

Chasing the target, Jaggi joined Virat after KB Arun Karthick departed edging Shardul Thakur to the ‘keeper. The opening pair had set the tone of the innings with a brisk 61-run partnership. While the wicketkeeper batsman had lofted Irfan Pathan for a six in the first over, Virat too had followed suit and milked the bowlers. He smacked Thakur for a straight boundary and later launched Irfan for a six over long off to set the pace.

The left-handed youngster had welcomed S Sanandia with a boundary as he matched Karthik in maintaining the flow of runs. After his opening partner’s departure, he found an able partner in Jaggi. After biding his time, the No 3 bat too dealt in sixes. He hooked Ishwar Choudhary for his six and them clobbered the rest of the attack with gusto. “As a batsman, I want to perform in every game, but in the last game I got out to a bad shot. Today I went in with the mindset I will either leave the short ball initially or defend it. I had gone in with that plan and was able to execute it,” he said looking back on his 30-ball knock that comprised six sixes and three boundaries.

Batting effortlessly, the pair put together 80 runs for the third wicket. Both batters reached their half-centuries with sixes as they clobbered the opposition. However, with just nine runs needed, Jaggi returned to the pavilion making way for Tiwary. The skipper then took the team to the finish line in style. 

Jaggi also credited the coach for his and team’s success, “Our coach (Rajiv Kumar) has been fantastic. He is one of the main reasons behind my success this season, because of the way he has nurtured me mentally. In the morning he told us that it doesn’t matter that we are at the top or what the required net run rate is. We have to play good cricket, that the most important thing.”

Earlier, after Parthiv Patel and Sheldon Jackson got West Zone off to a good start, the West Zone captain was trapped lbw by Suryakant Pradhan after being hit for three boundaries. And a run later in the next over, Aditya Tare departed handing a simple catch the wicketkeeper. Deepak Hooda then joined the opener and the pair added 40 runs until the middle-order bat was bowled by Sayan Ghosh. 16 runs later, the opener was sent back by Pragyan Ojha. Prerak Mankad and Rujul Bhatt then added 53 runs until the later was bowled by Pritam Das in the last over. With Irfan Pathan, Bhatt then took the team to 149 for five in 20 overs.

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article