bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Parthiv leads Gujarat to maiden Ranji Trophy title

Mumbai suffer their first defeat in a Ranji final since 1990-91

With a sparkling 143-run knock, Parthiv Patel helped Gujarat chase down a record 312-run target in the final to claim their maiden Ranji Trophy title.

The captain made crucial 90 runs to secure a first innings lead and followed it up with a century in the second to clinch a five-wicket win in the 2016-17 season of the prestigious tournament.

Like he had complemented the captain in tipping the balance in Gujarat’s favour in the first innings, Manprit Juneja once again helped forge a vital 116-run stand, which helped Gujarat seize the advantage after being reduced to 51 for two in the morning.

Balwinder Singh Sandhu had claimed both the openers after Gujarat had resumed their innings on 47 without loss. Priyank Panchal, who had become only the third batsman to score in excess of 1300 runs in a Ranji Trophy season, was sent back on the overnight score of 34. The medium-pacer forced an edge through to the wicket-keeper to give Mumbai an early breakthrough. He then followed up with the wicket of Bhargav Merai. 38 runs later, Abhishek Nayar accounted for Samit Gohil to keep Mumbai alive in the game.

Juneja, who joined Parthiv with the team on 89 for three, ably supported the skipper in building the Gujarat innings. While the captain gleaned runs off the Mumbai attack with ease, the middle-order batsman also impressed with some crisp strokes as they chipped away at the target. Batting at an unhurried pace, the duo kept the scoreboard ticking to seize the momentum in Gujarat’s fvaour.

However, after having done the hard yards to help Gujarat to an advantageous position, Juneja was sent back by Akhil Herwadkar on 52. The part-time bowlers drew an edge from the batsman through to Aditya Tare behind the stumps with the team on 205 for four. However, Parthiv continued to milk the bowlers from the other end. He slammed Sandhu for three boundaries in an over to inch towards his century and a couple of overs later went past the three-figure mark with two runs of Herwadkar.

While Gujarat approached their win, the Mumbai attack continued to hit the deck hard. However, misses in the field cost them dearly.

Parthiv continued to attack to Mumbai. However, with just 13 runs needed, he top-edged a Shardul Thakur short delivery and the bowler took the catch to send the batsman back. Chirag Gandhi then joined Rujul Bhatt in taking the team to the finish line. With two crisp boundaries off Thakur, the batsmen helped the team clinch their maiden title.

Brief scores: 

Day 1 - Mumbai 1st inn 228/10 in 83.5 overs (P Shaw 71, SK Yadav 57, R Bhatt 2/5, CT Gaja 2/46, RP Singh 2/48); Gujarat 1st inn 2/0 in 1 over. Trail by 22r runs
Day 2 – Gujarat 1st inn 291/6 in 92 overs (P Patel 90, M Juneja 77, C Gandhi 17*, R Kalaria 16*, A Nayar 3/91, S Thakur 2/67) Lead by 63 runs
Day 3 – Gujarat 1st inn 328/10 in 104.3 overs (R Kalaria 27, S Thakur 4/84, BS Sandhu 3/63); Mumbai 2nd inn 208/3 in 67 overs (S Iyer 82, SK Yadav 45, A Tare 13*, CT Gaja 3/54) Lead by 108 runs
Day 4 – Mumbai 2nd inn 411/10 in 137.1 overs (A Nayar 91, A Tare 69, C Gaja 6/121); Gujarat 2nd inn 47/0 in 13.2 overs (P Panchal 34*, S Gohil 8*) Need 265 runs to win
Day 5 – Gujarat 2nd inn 313/5 in 89.5 overs (P Patel 143, M Juneja 54, B Sandhu 2/101) Gujarat won by 5 wickets 

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article

Dominant Railways defend T20 title

Dominant Railways defend T20 title

Railways emerged winners of the Senior Women’s T20, Elite Super League in the 2016-17 season. The Veda Krishnamurthy-led team were unbeaten in the league phase and finished at the top of the points table. 

In their first outing, Railways beat Hyderabad by nine runs to kick start their campaign. Mithali Raj set up the win with a sparkling unbeaten century after Krishnamurthy elected to bat. Her whirlwind knock was complemented by Punam Raut’s 55-ball 66 not out to set the opposition a 168-run target. Poonam Yadav (two wickets) and Co. then defended the formidable total to clinch victory.

In their second game, they again cantered to a nine-wicket win, this time against Bengal. After restricting Bengal to 82 for six, Ekta Bisht picked two wickets while Soni Yadav, Swagathika Rath and N Niranjana picked a wicket each to set up the game for Railways. Chasing the sub-par score, Raut returned to the pavilion for 28 but MD Thirushkamini and Niranjana took the team across the line.

Railways then claimed the title with a resounding win against Madhya Pradesh in the last game. Mithali once again led the charge to set up the match in Railways’ favour. With an unbeaten 64-ball 83 she helped set the opponents a 169-run target. Niranjana then provided the first breakthrough with the wicket of Shweta Mishra. Bisht and Yadav then chipped in with a wicket each while Rajeshwari and Rath claimed a wicket each to bowl MP out for 96 and seal victory with three overs to spare.

With 18 wickets from seven matches MP’s Nidhi Buley topped the list of highest wicket-takers in the senior women’s T20 league while Mithali Raj holds the No. 1 position in the run-getters list with 311 runs from seven matches (six innings). 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article