Delhi lose to Saurashtra in a thriller

Odisha qualify for quarter-finals

With Delhi losing to Saurashtra, Jharkhand and Odisha will join Karnataka in the quarter-finals from Group B. However, their order in the points table will be based on the result of the match between Jharkhand and Odisha to be played from 15th to 18 December, 2016.

In the last round of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 league phase, Vidarbha beat Team Rajasthan by six wickets. 

Group B Round 9 – Day 4 Round-up:

Maharashtra vs Karnataka in Mohali: Maha 1st inn 163/10 in 56 overs (R Motwani 32, Vinay Kumar 5/46, S Arvind 2/32, S Binny 2/40); Kar 1st inn 345/10 in 110 overs (V Kumar 56*, C Khurana 2/41); Maha 2nd inn 218/10 in 47.3 overs (K Jadhav 85, D Mathias 3/37, A Mithun 2/44); Kar 2nd inn 39/0 in 10 overs (R Samarth 25*, K Abbas 14*) Karnataka won by 10 wickets

Saurashtra vs Delhi in Vadodara:
Sau 1st inn 92/10 in 33.2 overs (P Mankad 33, P Sangwan 4/25, S Narwal 4/27); Delhi 1st inn 237/10 in 58.3 overs (P Sangwan 75, K Patel 5/72); Sau 2nd inn 420/10 in 127.4 overs (K Parmar 149, A Vasavada 89, J Unadkat 80, AN Saini 3/122); Delhi 2nd inn 271/10 in 78.1 overs (Milind 55, M Sharma 46, S Sanandia 5/93, K Patel 4/83) Saurashtra won by 4 runs

With a narrow 4-run win, Saurashtra squashed Delhi’s hopes of staying in the race for a place in the knockouts on the last day of the last round of the league phase.

After Delhi resumed their 276-run chase on 102 for four, the Gautam Gambhir-led side were bowled out for 271 by the Saurashtra pace duo – Shaurya Sanandia (five wickets) and K Patel (four wickets). In the morning, Rishabh Pant was the first to be sent back for 29 by Sanandia ending the partnership for the fifth wicket for 64. Manan Sharma then joined Milind in an effort to keep the team in the chase and the pair added 77-run to the total until the pacer struck again. He ended Milind’s patient knock for 55 (off 165 balls). Six runs later, Jaydev Unadkat accounted for Manan to reduce Delhi to 226 for seven. Patel then claimed the last three batsmen to bowl Saurashtra to victory and knock Delhi out of the tournament.

Vidarbha vs Team Rajasthan in Noida:
Team Raj 1st inn 140/10 in 41.1 overs (MN Singh 27, A Sarvate 3/22, S Wagh 2/23, Lalit 2/46, R Gurbani 2/46); Vid 1st inn 116/10 in 41.3 overs (SK Wath 50, TM Ul Haq 6/21, P Singh 3/52); Team Raj 2nd inn 163/10 in 54.5 overs (A Gautam 51, S Dobal 34, Lalit 6/60, S Wagh 2/32); Vid 2nd inn 191/4 in 31.2 overs (S Wath 64, G Satish 63*, P Singh 2/96) Vidarbha won by 6 wickets

SR Ramaswamy and Faiz Fazal began Vidarbha’s 188-run chase in the morning. While both openers were sent back early in the innings with the team on 22 for two, G Satish (63* off 69) anchored the team to a comprehensive win. Coming to the crease at 12 for one, the No 3 bat helped the team finish the season with a win. His 103-run stand with S Wath (64 off 65) helped set up the platform to attain the total. He was then involved in a 53-run partnership for the fourth wicket with J Sharma and then took the team to the finish line with S Shrivastava. 

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article

TN, Gujarat qualify for quarter-finals

Mumbai pull off a draw against Punjab after Iyer slams ton

On the basis of the first innings lead, Tamil Nadu gained three points while Gujarat gained one from the drawn game. Both teams now have 26 points each and have qualified for the knockouts along with Mumbai. The defending champions finished at the top of the points table in the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 at the end of the league phase.

A patient batting performance by the Mumbai line-up, led by Shreyas Iyer’s century helped the team pull off a draw after being asked to follow on by Punjab.

While Uttar Pradesh gained three points from the drawn game against Baroda on the basis of a first innings lead, the Irfan Pathan-led team have averted relegation by claiming one. They have taken their points tally to 10 and pushed Railways to the bottom of the table on the basis of the net run rate. Railways will therefore be relegated to Group C in the 2017-18 season.

Group A Round 9 – Day 4 Round-up:

Punjab vs Mumbai in Rajkot:
Punjab 1st inn 468/10 in 169.5 overs (M Siddana 115, G Mann 93, S Yadav 4/47, T Deshpande 2/71); Mumbai 1st inn 185/9 in 60.3 overs (S Thakur 70, S Shaikh 67, MS Grewal 4/39, R Golu 2/43); F/o Mum 2nd inn 227/4 in 116 overs (S Iyer 123, S Yadav 27*, S Kaul 2/43, R Golu 2/88) Match Drawn. Punjab took first innings lead.

After resuming Mumbai’s second innings on 94 for two, Shreyas Iyer and Vishal Dabholkar played patiently to keep the innings afloat. The night-watchman was the first to be sent back; trapped lbw by Siddharth Kaul reducing the team to 133 for three. With a 117-ball 16, Dabholkar had helped stabilize the innings and kept Mumbai on course for saving the game. Suryakumar Yadav then joined Iyer and continued to keep the bowlers at bay. The pair had taken the side to 184 when the opener returned to the pavilion on 123. His determined 209-ball knock was ended by R Golu.

With Aditya Tare, Suryakumar then helped Mumbai to a draw. When the match was called off, the middle-order batsman was batting on 21 off 105 balls while the captain was not out on 10 off 52 deliveries. Mumbai end the league stage as table toppers.

Baroda vs Uttar Pradesh in Nashik: UP 1st inn 481/10 in 115 overs (K Yadav 117, S Kumar 105, I Ahmed 41*, S Manglorkar 3/89); Baroda 1st inn 458/10 in 121.1 overs (K Devdhar 157, S Singh 95, IK Pathan 81, I Ahmed 4/126); UP 2nd inn 417/3 in 104.1 overs (S Chaudhary 124, A Nath 107*, R Arothe 2/77) Match Drawn. UP took first innings lead.

Having seized the first innings lead and the result a foregone conclusion UP continued to pile on runs in their second outing until the match was called off in a draw. S Chaudhary (124) and A Nath (107*) registered tons in the team’s second innings. After resuming the innings on 117 without loss, UP were 417 for three until play was called off.

Madhya Pradesh vs Bengal in Palam, New Delhi
: Bengal 1st inn 475/9 decl (S Goswami 225*, A Easwaran 80, P Datey 4/105); MP 1st inn 370/10 in (A Sharma 94, N Ojha 43, S Gosh 5/94); Bengal 2nd inn 261/2 in 72 overs (A Raman 91, P Das 72, P Datey 1/26) Match Drawn. Bengal took first innings lead.

After resuming on 363 for eight, Madhya Pradesh were bowled out for 370 on the last morning. Overnight batsmen - Ankit Sharma and Naman Ojha - were sent back by Ashok Dinda and S Gosh.

Gosh finished with a five-for in the innings as he helped bowl Bengal to a first innings lead. Batting again, Bengal were 261 for two until the match ended in a draw.

Tamil Nadu vs Gujarat in Belgaum: Gujarat 1st inn 307/10 in 112 overs (A Patel 44, T Natarajan 3/86); TN 1st inn 580/6 decl in 229 overs (K Gandhi 202, V Shankar 102, B Aparajith 54*, R Kalaria 2/47) Match drawn. Tamil Nadu took first innings lead.

Having seized the first innings lead on the third day, Tamil Nadu continued to bat on the last day of the match and piled up 580 runs for six wickets before they declared their innings late in the day. Kaushik Gandhi posted his maiden double-century after resuming his innings on 150 on the fourth morning until he was sent back for 202 by H Patel. The match ended in a draw after TN declared their innings in the last session of the day. Both teams have qualified for the quarter finals. 

Prajakta Pawar
Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article