bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Clinical India A clinch Deodhar Trophy

Opener Faiz Fazal hits century; Bowlers shoot out India B for 199

India A lifted the Prof D B Deodhar Trophy after beating India B by 87 runs in the final in Kanpur. After Faiz Fazal set the stage for a competitive score with a well compiled century, Kedar Jadhav’s late onslaught set India B a 287-run target. The pacers then bowled the team to victory by wrapping up the opposition for 199.

Defending 286, S Arvind trapped India B captain, the in-form Unmukt Chand in front while Krishna Das dealt a double blow as India B were reduced to 12 for three. Mayank Agarwal struck the pacer straight to mid-off while Das forced an edge from Baba Aparajith through to the wicketkeeper. Both batsmen who had survived early on departed without causing much damage. However, their team couldn’t recover from the damage caused by India A new-ball bowlers and were playing catch-up from there on.

28 runs later, Shreyas Iyer edged Arvind towards the slips and Fazal took the catch close to the ground. Facing an uphill task, Surya Kumar Yadav worked to hold up one end while keeping up with the required run rate, but was unable to find support from the other end. Dinesh Karthik’s departure 14 runs later left the team reeling at 54 for five. Shardul Thakur crashed into the wicketkeeper-batsman’s stumps to tip the balance in his team’s favour.

In his next over, Thakur missed an opportunity to send back Yadav as his Mumbai team-mate hit the fuller delivery straight back while on 19.

With Stuart Binny, he stitched a 64-run partnership in a valiant effort to revive the innings. However, with the team on 116, he was sent back by Amit Mishra and a while later, Shahbaz Nadeem accounted for the hard-hitting Pawan Negi.

Binny continued his efforts to get close to the the target with Karn Sharma, who attacked the India A bowlers. After hitting three sixes during his stay, Sharma perished pulling Thakur towards deep mid-wicket where Sudip Chatterjee pulled off a good catch.

Binny was the next to depart. Coming down the track to Nadeem, the all-rounder found his bails ripped apart by Naman Ojha. And three balls later, the spinner accounted for Nathu Singh to give India A a thumping win.

Earlier, the162-run opening stand between Faiz Fazal and Murali Vijay set the tone for the India A innings after Ambati Rayudu elected to bat in the all-important encounter.

Fazal, who got off the mark with a boundary through leg side off Dhawal Kulkarni anchored the innings with a well compiled century. However, after Vijay departed hitting Nathu to midwicket, India A lost wickets at regular intervals. Ojha holed out towards deep midwicket while the opener was run out looking for a single. The team were reduced to 204 for four by Binny, who ended Rayudu’s shaky 21-run knock.

Kedar Jadhav, who had scripted India A’s win in their previous game then helped lift the total in yet another late blitzkrieg. During his unbeaten 39-ball 58-run knock, he claimed 17 runs of Nathu in the 48th over with a boundary and a six to take the team to a comfortable total.

Brief scores: India A 286/7 in 50 overs (F Fazal 100, M Vijay 69, K Jadhav 58*, D Kulkarni 2/31) beat India B 199/10 in 40.4 overs (S Binny 60, SK Yadav 45, S Nadeem 3/36, K Das 2/32, S Arvind 2/43, S Thakur 2/47) by 87 runs.

Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article

Kedar blitz powers India A into final

Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel’s century in vain

Chasing 273 in a must-win game against Gujarat, Kedar Jadhav powered India A into the Deodhar Trophy final with an unbeaten 61-ball 91-run knock. The Ambati Rayudu-led team will take on the Unmukt Chand-led India B in the final on Friday January 29.

Chasing a competitive total, India A were 49 for two when Faiz Fazal found an able ally in Rayudu (75) to build a foundation and keep the chase on course. The pair added 75 runs until the opener edged Mehul Patel to the slips and departed for 53. With the team on 124 for three and the required run rate a little over six runs per over, the hard-hitting Jadhav then joined forces with the captain and took on the bowlers. Milking the opposition in an 83-run stand, the duo tipped the balance in their team's favour.

Jadhav was the more aggressive of the two as he continued to find the gaps. He pulled and swept the ball to the fence to keep the required run rate in check. The partnership was broken when the captain was run out while looking for second run.

With 66 runs required at run-a-ball, Naman Ojha joined Jadhav to take the innings forward. With Jadhav plundering runs, the pair also ran hard between the wickets to maintain the advantage. With a couple of boundaries through cover and point, Jadhav brought the team within sniffing distance of victory and entered the nineties. He remained unconquered as Naman took the team to the finish line in the following over with 16 balls to spare. 

Earlier, captain Parthiv Patel was once again the standout performer for Gujarat after they were asked to bat in the all-important match. The opening batsman shaped the team's innings with a well compiled century. After Priyank Panchal edged Shardul Thakur to Naman behind the stumps to end the openings stand for 81, the skipper continued to anchor the innings with aplomb.

While the captain played a sterling knock, the India A spinners were the undoing of the Gujarat batsmen. Manpreet Juneja holed Pravez Rasool (three wickets) out to deep mid-wicket. Chirag Gandhi departed 14 runs later, offering a simple catch towards point off Faiz Fazal. Wickets continued to fall at regular intervals while Parthiv held up one end to take the team to 222. Raxlee Taylor followed him back in the next over without any addition to the score. 

Santosh Shinde's late onslaught (28 off 18) was a treat for the spectators as he helped the team to 272. After launching Amit Mishra (three wickets) over long on and mid-wicket for sixes, he perished handing a catch to long-off in the leg-spinner’s next over with still four balls remaining in the innings. 

Brief scores:
Gujarat 272/10 in 49.2 overs (P Patel 119, P Rasool 3/47, A Mishra 3/48) lost to India A 273/4 in 47.2 overs (K Jadhav 91*, A Rayudu 75, F Fazal 53, M patel 2/53) by 6 wickets

Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article