bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Virat reclaims top ODI spot

India finish the season as second-ranked ODI team

India’s Virat Kohli has reclaimed the number-one batting position in the latest ICC Player Rankings for ODI Batsmen, which were released on Sunday at the conclusion of the Asia Cup which was won by Sri Lanka.

Kohli had entered the Asia Cup, trailing number-one ranked AB de Villiers by two ratings points. Kohli’s tournament aggregate of 189 runs in three innings, with 136 against Bangladesh as his series best earned him 12 ratings points, which has put him ahead of South Africa’s ODI captain by nine ratings points.

Following his knock of 136, Kohli had achieved his career high rating of 886 but finished with 881 ratings points after scores of 48 (against Sri Lanka) and five (against Pakistan). Kohli didn’t bat against Afghanistan.

Kohli was last ranked number-one just before the ODI series against New Zealand in January 2014.
Strong batting performances in the Asia Cup have resulted in a reshuffle of the positions, with Sri Lanka’s Lahiru Thirimanne, who won the player of the tournament, making the biggest progress.

The left-handed Sri Lanka opener has jumped 29 places to a career-best 39th position after he totaled 279 runs in the series, including two centuries.

Other batsmen to head in the right direction include Shikhar Dhawan in eighth (up by three place), Ahmed Shehzad in 17th (up by four places), Umar Akmal in 19th (up by six places), Rohit Sharma in 22nd (up by one place), Angelo Mathews in 28th (up by four places), Mushfiqur Rahim in 35th (up by eight places), Shahid Afridi in 44th (up by five places) and Ravindra Jadeja in 50th (up by 12 places).

The latest rakings also include the three-match ODI between the West Indies and England, with Joe Root the biggest mover. Root, who won the player of the series award, has been rewarded with a jump of 29 places which has put him in 43rd position.

Meanwhile, spinning trio of Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Hafeez and Ravichandaran Ashwin are the biggest gainers inside the top 20 of the ICC Player Rankings for ODI Bowlers.

Jadeja has earned four places and is now in fifth position after claiming seven wickets in four matches, Hafeez has climbed three places to 12th after his five wickets, while Ashwin’s nine wickets in the series has given him a lift of seven places that has put him in 14th position.

Outside the top 20, player of the final, Lasith Malinga, has jumped 11 places to 22nd. Malinga, who picked five for 56 in the final, was also the highest wicket-taker in the five-team tournament with 11 wickets from four matches.

Other big movers include Mohammad Shami in 26th (up by nine), Sachitra Senanayake in 34th (up by three places), Amit Mishra in 36th (up by five places), Ajantha Mendis in 41st (up by five places) and Suranga Lakmal in 47th (up by 15 places).

Meanwhile, India has been guaranteed to retain its number-two position in the Reliance ICC ODI Team Rankings at the 1 April cut-off date.

India finished with 113 ratings points, just one ahead of third-ranked Sri Lanka, to walk away with a prize of US$75,000. There was no other change in the table with all sides retaining their positions.

Australia was assured of the number-one ranking in the Reliance ICC ODI Team Rankings on the 1 April cut-off date in January after India lost its ODI series against New Zealand 0-4. It will receive the ODI Shield as well as a cheque of US$175,000.

In addition to this, Australia has also won a cash prize of US$370,000 for finishing second on the Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings Table on the 1 April cut-off date. So in all, Australia has earned a total prize of US$525,000 from its positions on the rankings tables.

The Asia Cup was the last ODI series before the 1 April cut-off date as focus will now shift to the shortest format of the game with England-West Indies and South Africa-Australia featuring in a total of six T20Is between them from 9 to 14 March. 

These matches will serve as final preparations for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, which will take place from 16 March to 6 April. The West Indies men’s and Australia women’s sides will defend the titles in the event that will take place in Chittagong, Mirpur and Sylhet.

The first confirmed ODI series after the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 is between Ireland and Sri Lanka in Dublin. The two-match ODI series will start on 6 May.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Indian women to play 3 T20Is in Bangladesh

Three-match series will be followed by 2014 World Twenty20
Indian women to play 3 T20Is in Bangladesh


The Indian Women's team will be leaving for Bangladesh, on 7 March 2014.

The squad will play three T20 Internationals against Bangladesh, on 9 March, 11 March and 13 March respectively, at the Sheik Kamal International Cricket Stadium, Cox’s Bazar.

This three-match series will be followed by the ICC World T20 2014.

A pre-departure media conference has been organised at 4:15 pm, on Thursday, 6 March 2014, at the Media Conference Room, Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Mithali Raj (Captain), Purnima Rau (Coach) and Vidya Yadav (Manager) will attend the same.

The official team photograph will be clicked after the media conference.

Sanjay Patel
Hony. Secretary

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article