bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

England announce squad for Third Test

Jos Buttler to replace Matt Prior; wicketkeeper-batsman set to make Test debut

England have announced their 13-member squad for the third Test against India at Rose Bowl, Southampton. The one big change in the squad is that of Jos Buttler who is all set to make his Test debut replacing injured Matt Prior.

Prior who has had a terrible run so far in the series had decided to stand down from Test cricket for the rest of the summer due to injury.

England look at Buttler as an exciting prospect who has made notable contributions in the shorter format of the game. National selector James Whitaker said, "Jos Buttler comes into the squad following some very exciting limited-overs performances for England and a good record with Lancashire this season.”

Simon Kerrigan, the Lancashire spinner, has been left out but the squad is otherwise unchanged from the second Test. Also, Alastair Cook has received unanimous backing from the team and the selectors to continue as captain for the third Test which starts on Sunday.

England squad (3rd Test) : Alastair Cook (Capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Sam Robson, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Report: Ind A vs SA A, Match 4

India A cruise to 70-run win
Report: Ind A vs SA A, Match 4

India A opened their account in the ongoing Quadrangular One-day series in Australia with an emphatic 70-run win over South Africa A at the Gardens Oval. After Manish Pandey (91) and Manoj Tiwary (93) helped the Robin Uthappa-led side to 326/7, Dhawal Kulkarni scripted the opposition's downfall. The pacer claimed 5/54 as India A bowled SA A out for 256.

India A skipper Uthappa won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa A in Darwin. Opening the batting with Unmukt Chand, the captain was the first to depart after scoring two runs.

But the batsmen to follow, ensured India A posted a massive score at the end of fifty overs. Manish Pandey, then joined Chand in the middle and the pair added 84 runs for the second wicket until Chand was sent back by Simon Harmer.

Tiwary who then came to the crease, plundered runs off the opposition attack. With a 73-ball 93 he helped India A to 258.

Although Pandey and Tiwary missed out on centuries, they had ensured that the team reached a competitive target. Ambati Rayudu (32 off 20) and Sanju Samson (24 off 13) played handy cameos and put a stiff target ahead of SA A. Matchant de Lange claimed 5/64 while K Rabada and S Hammer picked a wicket each.

South Africa A couldn’t do much in their reply as the Dhawal Kulkarni-led attack ran through the South Africa A line-up to wrap up the game in 47.1 overs. Kulkarni claimed five wickets, Pravez Rasool took two even as Akshar Patel and Rayudu chipped in with a wicket each.

SA A opener Reeza Hendricks scored a half-century while Justin Ontong made 48. But the rest of the line-up caved in to the India A attack and returned to the pavilion at regular intervals.

Brief scores: India A 326/7 in 50 overs (M Tiwary 93, M Pandey 91, de Lange 5/64) beat South Africa A 256 all out in 47.1 overs (R Hendricks 52, D Kulkarni 5/54) by 70 runs. 

Prajakta Pawar

CommentsBack to article