bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Report: Bengal vs Rajasthan, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, 2014

Bowlers help Rajasthan to 14-run win
Report: Bengal vs Rajasthan, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, 2014

Defending a modest 137 runs, bowlers took Rajasthan to a 14-run win in their Group B match of the T20 Super League for the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy in Mumbai. After their batsmen posted a modest total on the board, the Rajasthan bowlers struck at regular intervals and kept the flow of runs in check to keep the match hanging in balance. Gajendra Singh claimed three vital wickets in the latter half of the innings to keep Rajasthan in the fray. Holding their nerve as the game progressed, they kept Bengal down to 123 for seven to claim victory.

Earlier, opting to field first, Bengal got their first breakthrough as early as the third over. Sourav Mondal dislodged Surya Prakash Suwalka’s bails to leave Rajasthan on nine for one. Divya Pratap Singh then joined Ankit Lamba, and the pair chipped away at the Bengal bowling to add 59 runs for the second wicket. After surviving a half-chance early in his innings, DP Singh helped lay a platform for the innings. In the most expensive over of the first half of the innings, he smashed two boundaries off Sanjib Sanyal to collect 15 runs off the over. Couple of overs later, the opener hit another straight six off Aamir Gani. The pair brought up the team’s 50 as they inched forward. With the team on 68, Divya Pratap Singh was caught at long-off off Sandipan Das. The wicket triggered a mini-collapse.

Aditya Lamba was caught at mid-on off Saurashish Lahiri off the first ball of the next over, while Puneet Yadav was caught at midwicket. With the off-spinner on a hattrick, Rajesh Bishnoi took a single to mid-wicket. But off the fourth ball of the over, Naresh Ghelot was caught by Lahiri off his own bowling. With four wickets in a span of five balls, Rajasthan were left on 69 for five.

Aditya Garhwal then joined the captain in the middle as Rajasthan looked to set the opposition a challenging target. In Lahiri’s next over, Bishnoi clobbered the bowler for two boundaries and a six to collect 20 runs off it. Although the flow of runs had increased, wickets too continued to fall at regular intervals as the batsmen perished taking the aerial route in an attempt to help accelerate the run rate. Garhwal returned for 20, while Deepak Chahar who replaced him, was sent back for a duck by Sanyal.

With the team on 110 for seven, Rituraj Singh came to the crease, but was bowled by Mondol for four in the 19th over. Bishnoi was the last to depart in the final over of the innings. With the team on 130, he was caught at mid-on off Sanyal. Gajendra Singh and Aniket Choudhary added seven runs off the last five balls to take the team to 137 for nine.

Chasing the modest score, Bengal’s openers put together 37 runs, until Shreevats Goswami was castled by Rituraj Singh. Carrying the innings forward, Vivek Singh, along with Sudip Chatterjee, struck Aniket Choudhary to the long-off boundary in the next over. 14 runs later, Garhwal sent back Chatterjee to leave the opposition on 51 for two. However, Vivek Singh held up one end continued to garner runs. He sent Puneet Yadav sailing over long-on to collect six in the next over. However, two runs short of his half-century, he was caught at the fence by Chahar. With a wicket off his first ball, Gajendra Singh provided his team with a vital breakthrough to leave Bengal on 71 for three.

With 67 runs required and the team comfortably placed, Pankaj Shaw joined Arnab Nandi in the middle to ease the team towards the target. The pair kept the scoreboard ticking, but with the team on 95, Pankaj Shaw was sent back Gajendra Singh. Then, Nandi struck the next delivery back to the bowler. Facing the hat-trick ball, Sandipan Das denied the bowler the milestone.

At 95 for five, Bengal had two new batsmen - Sanyal and Das - at the crease. The pair took the team to the three-figure mark. But while looking to sneak in a single, Das was run out. With six wickets gone and Bengal needing 38 runs off 19 balls, the match was precariously poised. Striking at crucial moments, Rajasthan kept themselves in the hunt.

Then, with 30 runs needed off the last two overs, Sanyal pulled Rituraj to the boundary, but the bowler followed up with two dot balls. Looking for the big shot, Mondol perished leaving Bengal on 113 for seven. Rajasthan then seized the momentum and pulled off a victory. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Round-up: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, April 8

Swapnil Asnodkar stars in Goa’s victory
Round-up: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, April 8

The bowlers set up a victory for Baroda against Bengal, while captain Swapnil Asnodkar led Goa to a win over Haryana. Meanwhile, Kerala outplayed Delhi in Mumbai to kick off the Super League of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy with a win and Gujarat coasted to a six-wicket win. Here are the highlights of Day 1 of the ongoing T20 tournament:

Group B

Baroda vs Bengal: Baroda carried forward their winning streak into the Super League phase. In a low-scoring match against Bengal, the Aditya Waghmode-led side cantered to a seven-wicket win with 36 balls to spare. Their bowlers had earlier bowled Bengal out for 96 runs after electing to field first. Lukman Meriwala and A Karambelkar claimed three wickets each, while Hardik Pandya accounted for two scalps. Chasing the paltry total, Baroda lost three wickets but cruised to the target effortlessly.

DDCA vs Kerala: Kerala beat Delhi by 14 runs in their opening game of the Super League phase, in Mumbai. The Kerala openers set up the game in their team’s favour with an 89-run opening stand. Their bowlers then struck at regular intervals to keep the Delhi batsmen in check and held them down to 136 for nine to bowl their side to victory. Click here for the full report

Group A

Goa vs Haryana: After restricting Haryana to 116 for nine, Goa cantered to an eight-wicket win with two overs to spare. Earlier, after opting to field first, M Gawas claimed both openers to leave Haryana on 14 for two. Although the middle order strove to stem the fall wickets, they couldn’t recover from the top-order collapse that had left the team floundering on 36 for four. The lower order too caved in without much resistance as L Garg claimed three wickets and H Gadekar and Amit Yadav chipped in with one each.

Swapnil Asnodkar then led the chase with an unbeaten 70-run knock to take Goa across the line.

Gujarat vs Jharkhand: Gujarat won by six wickets after restricting Jharkhand to 108. Remaining unbeaten on 46, SK Patel helped Gujarat chase down the target with 11 balls to spare. SS Quadri picked three of the four Gujarat wickets that fell during the chase.

Earlier, Jharkhand trudged to 108 for eight after losing three wickets with just 25 runs on the board. With 25 runs, Kumar Deobrath was the top-scorer for the team from North Zone. KM Thakor and CT Gaja claimed three and two wickets respectively, while Rohit Dahiya, RH Bhatt and RV Dhruve chipped in with a wicket each.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article