bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Round-up: BCCI T20 League, April 5

Sagun Kamat leads Goa to another win
Round-up: BCCI T20 League, April 5

Table-toppers of their groups, Delhi, Goa and Bengal finished the BCCI T20 League phase on a winning note. Here are the highlights of the day:

Central Zone

Vidarbha vs Rajasthan: After restricting Vidarbha to 157 for seven, Rajasthan attained the target with five balls to spare and posted a three-wicket win. Earlier, upon electing to bat first in their backyard, A V Ubarhande's half-century and Faiz Fazal's 36 helped Vidarbha to a respectable total. While A V Choudhary claimed the top order, Pankaj Singh accounted for the middle order. Both bowlers finished with three wickets after Naresh Gehlot ended the opening stand. Scoring 85 off 48 balls, A S Lamba then led Rajasthan's chase.

North Zone

Delhi vs Services: Chasing 145 runs, Delhi cantered to a five-wicket win against Services with 10 balls to spare on the last day of the league. Mithun Manhas (31), Milind Kumar (32) and Rajat Bhatia's 30 not-out helped the team attain the target with ease. Services bowler Sumit Singh claimed three of the five Delhi wickets that fell today. Earlier, SSCB were restricted to 144 for six by the P S Suyal-led attack. Suyal and V Sood claimed two wickets each, while Rajat Bhatia and Parvinder Awana took a wicket apiece.

Haryana vs Himachal: Chasing 147, Haryana coasted to a seven-wicket against Himachal in Mohali. Earlier, Rishi Dhawan once again stood out for his performance with the bat after Himachal elected to bat first. The all-rounder propelled the side to 146 for nine as wickets fell in clusters around him. He came up with a superb performance after Harshal Patel and J Sharma had reduced Himachal to 39 for five. K Hooda then claimed two, and thanks to two run outs, Himachal finished with 146 for nine. G A Singh (48) and S Rana (39) then helped the team to a comfortable win with four balls to spare.

South Zone

Andhra vs Kerala: Having bowled Andhra out for a paltry 69, Kerala coasted to a nine-wicket win at Vijayawada. After electing to field first, Manu Krishnan castled D Prashanth Kumar in the second over of the innings and set the tone of the innings. The Andhra batting line-up crumbled for 18.2 overs after Basil Thampy and Padmanabhan Prasanth claimed three wickets each. V A Jagdeesh and Rakesh KJ picked one wicket apiece to wrap up the innings. Lower-order batsman D Sivakumar was the top-scorer for Andhra with 20 runs. Vishnu Vinod and Rakesh then closed in on the total with a 63-run opening stand.

East Zone

Assam vs Jharkhand: Jharkhand registered an eight-wicket win over Assam on the last day of BCCI T20 League. Electing to bat first in Kolkata, Assam were restricted to 127 for eight by Jharkhand. Sarfaraz Ashraf claimed three wickets, while R Shukla, KJ Kumar and Shahbaz Nadeem chipped in with a wicket each. Ishan Kishan then led Jharkhand to the target with a 38 not-out.

Bengal vs Odisha: The East Zone table-toppers stamped their domination with a nine-run win over Odisha in a low-scoring match. A combined effort by the bowling attack helped the team to a nine-run win while defending 121 runs. P B Chakraborty, S C Sanyal, A A Gani and A Nandi picked two wickets each, while S Lahiri took one to help keep the opposition down to 112 for nine. Earlier, Vivek Singh's 38, followed by Manoj Tiwary's 22 and A Nandi's 29 not-out, had taken Bengal to 121 for seven.

South Zone

Goa vs Hyderabad:
Goa pulled off a two-wicket win against Hyderabad. Defending 151, the Goa bowlers held Hyderabad to 149 for eight to claim victory. Amol Shinde, A Ashish Reddy and P Kanishk Naidu picked two wickets each, while Ravi Kiran and Pragyan Ojha chipped in with a wicket each to bowl the team to a win. Earlier, the in-form Goa opener scored 56 to help his side to 151 for eight.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Statistical Highlights: WT20 SF - Ind vs SA

Virat proves he is master of chases with an average of 80

1 First time South Africa failed to defend a 170-plus total in T20Is

3 Number of times two Asian teams have reached the final of a World T20 event. In 2007, India and Pakistan made it to the final, whereas in 2009, Pakistan and Sri Lanka fought it out for the ultimate prize.

6.81 Percent – Kohli’s dot-percentage in the match – 3 dots out of 44. This is the lowest for any player playing more than 30 balls in an innings.

7 Number of consecutive matches won by India in the T20 format – only England and Ireland have enjoyed longer winning streaks (8 matches each).

10 Number of times MS Dhoni has remained not out in a chase in T20Is; the most for any batsman.

80 Virat Kohli’s average in chases in T20Is – the highest for any batsman with at least 10 innings.

176 India’s total – second highest successful chase by any side in a semi-final/final of the World T20, after Australia’s 197/7 vs Pakistan in the 2010 semi-final.

Rajneesh Gupta

CommentsBack to article