1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Round-up: BCCI T20 League, April 2

BCCI Staff in Mumbai 02 April 2014 - 04:13pm IST

Round-up: BCCI T20 League, April 2

Ashish Hooda claims fiver for Haryana

Haryana pacer Ashish Hooda claimed five for 22 to help his team to victory in the BCCI T20 League. Here are the highlights of the day:

Central Zone

MPCA vs UPCA: UP pulled off a three-wicket win with a ball to spare against MP at Nagpur. Electing to field first, they reduced MP to 16 for three. However, U Birla's 26 and Jatin Saxena's 28 in the middle order – along with S Baig's 38 not-out lower down the order – helped MP to 139 before being bowled out on the last ball of the innings. PP Chawala’s unbeaten 45 then helped UP chase down the target with a ball to spare.

North Zone

DDCA vs J&K: DDCA cantered to a six-wicket win against J&K in their Twenty20 match in Chandigarh. Electing to field first, Delhi restricted J&K to 119 for eight. While Parvez Rasool top-scored for his team with a valiant 44, the rest of the bating line-up collapsed in face of Delhi’s bowling.

Varun Sood claimed three wickets, while Rajat Bhatia picked two as they ran through the opposition line-up. Delhi then chased down the target with an over to spare. Although Gautam Gambhir departed early, the middle order contributed to take their team to victory. Unmukt Chand made 39 runs, while Virender Sehwag made 22 and Rajat Bhatia scored 28.

Haryana vs SSCB: A Hooda claimed five for 22 to bowl Haryana to an eight-run win. Earlier, A Barot's 78 at the top of the order helped Haryana post 144 for seven. Chasing the target, Services caved in after a 60-run opening stand between N Verma and Yashpal Singh. Verma scored 46, while S Swain made 32 not-out while chasing the 145-run target.

South Zone

Andhra v Tamil Nadu: TN won by 32 runs under the VJD system. Earlier, inserted to bat first, Murali Viajy’s 54 and Baba Aprajith’s 41 helped TN to 157 for seven. Rahil Shah then fashioned TN’s victory with a four-wicket haul. He was complemented by M Mohammed (two wickets) and the rest of the attack in bowling Andhra out for 126.

Goa v Kerala: Goa pulled off a thrilling two-run win against Kerala after setting them a 150-run target in their Twenty20 match. Asked to bat first, Sagun Kamat and Swapnil Asnodkar set up the game with a 90-run opening stand. However, the batsmen that followed failed to capitalise on the platform laid by the pair. They succumbed to the Kerala bowling attack in quick succession. H Gadekar claimed three wickets, while A Yadav and D Misal picked two each to help hold Kerala to 147 for eight and claim the game.

East Zone

Assam v Odisha: The Pritam Das-led Assam attack skittled Odisha out for 102 to claim a 35-run win. Pritam picked four for 19, while AN Ahmed, A Das and J Syed Mohammed picked two wickets each to bowl the opposition out for 102. Earlier, S Roy scored 47, while D Jadhav made 33 to help Assam reach a respectable 137 for six while batting first.

Jharkhand v Tripura: After setting Tripura a 139-run target, Jharkhand restricted the opposition to 127 to clinch an 11-run win in the ongoing T20 tournament. Earlier, after being reduced to two for 29, useful contributions by the middle order – in addition to I Jaggi's 36 at the top of the order – helped Jharkhand to 138 for seven. The Tripura batting line-up, with the exception of Yogesh Takawale, caved in to the Jharkhand bowling attack. Takawale went on to score 58, but the rest of the line-up's failure cost Tripura the game.

West Zone

Baroda vs Gujarat: Baroda's Hardik Pandya and Irfan Pathan performed well with the bat and ball to take their team to a six-wicket win against Gujarat. The pair dismantled the Gujarat line-up and paved the way for a Baroda victory and then returned to chase down the sub-par target after their side lost three wickets with 12 runs on the board. In the day-night clash at Wankhede Stadium, Irfan set the tone of the innings by claiming three wickets in his second over and finished with 4-1-17-3, while Hardik finished with 4-1-7-3. The pair’s 58-run partnership then ensured Baroda attained the 80-run target comfortably. Click here to read the full report.

Mumbai vs Saurashtra: Mumbai posted a 16-run win against Saurashtra in the West Zone clash of the BCCI T20 League. A 46-run opening stand and unbroken 46-run partnership between Sarfaraz Khan and Sujit Nayak helped Mumbai to 145 for five. A late onslaught by the batsmen to collect 39 runs from the last two overs helped Mumbai’s cause. Cheteshwar Pujara then made 62 off 60 balls during Saurashtra’s run chase. The match was kept hanging in balance by the Saurashtra batsmen, but Zaheer Khan’s double-blow in the penultimate over tipped the match decisively in Mumbai’s favour. Click here for the full report.