bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Statistical Highlights: WT20 - Ind vs Aus

Yuvraj breaks multiple records as India win 6th in a row

4 for 11 - R Ashwin’s figures in the match. These are the best by an Indian bowler in a Twenty20 International. Ashwin obliterated Harbhajan Singh’s 4/12 against England in 2012.

6 Number of consecutive wins for India – their longest winning streak in Twenty20 Internationals. India had won five matches on the trot in 2007.

8 Number of 50s Yuvraj has scored in Twenty20 Internationals – most by an Indian. He was earlier tied with Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma with seven half-centuries.

9 Number of boundaries (fours and/or sixes) hit by Yuvraj in the match. The whole Australian team managed only eight!

61.75 Yuvraj’s batting average in Twenty20 Internationals against Australia – highest for any batsman playing five innings or more.

Margin of victory for India – their second biggest in Twenty20 Internationals, after their 90-run win over England at Colombo RPS in 2012.

Rajneesh Gupta

CommentsBack to article

Report: B’desh vs Ind (Women), WT20 2014

Kaur stars in India’s victory
Report: B’desh vs Ind (Women), WT20 2014

India Women registered their first win of the ICC World T20, 2014 with a 79-run win over Bangladesh Women at the Sylhet Stadium in Bangladesh. A magnificent 77-run whirlwind knock by Harmanpreet Kaur helped India set Bangladesh a challenging target in the match. The Jhulan Goswami-led attack then strengthened the team’s position by dealing early blows. Goswami and Shubhlakshmi Sharma claimed three wickets each to hold Bangladesh to 72 for eight to claim a comprehensive victory.

Electing to bat, Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur got the India off to a flying start with a 107-run opening stand. Kaur joined Raj, who has been in good form, and joined in milking the opposition bowlers as they laid the foundation for India. Raj set the tone of the game with couple of boundaries off Jahanara Alam in the second over. Boundaries came at frequent intervals as the pair kept the scoreboard ticking. It was only when the innings was approaching its last quarter that Bangladesh got their first breakthrough of the game. Khadija Tul Kubra had the India captain stumped for 41.

Goswami who replaced her in the middle was dismissed by Rumana Ahmed in the next over after adding just two runs to the total. Kaur however continued to take on the Bangladesh bowlers as she added to the total. Soniya Dabir was the next to be bowled by Ahmed. With couple of overs left and India comfortably placed on 135 Alam accounted for Kaur’s wicket. The opener had until then scored 77 off 59 balls to keep the balance tipped in her team’s favour. Although a wicket fell in the penultimate over, Punam Raut helped collect 11 runs off it. Shubhalakshmi Sharma was the next to be sent back in the last over. But with five runs coming off the last over, India had set Bangladesh a 152-run target.

Defending the target, Poonam Yadav dealt the first blow to send back Ayasha Rahman with 22 runs on the board. Goswami then followed up with wickets of Fargana Haque and Rumana Ahmed to leave the opposition on 39 for three. 11 runs later Yadav accounted for Salma Khatun’s wicket. Sharma too joined in and claimed three wickets to keep Bangladesh on a tight leash. Although they didn’t bowl out the opposition, the Indian women claimed wickets and kept the flow of runs in check and sailed to a win. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article