2014 T20 League (West Zone): Guj vs Maha

Parthiv, Bumrah star in Gujarat victory

Gujarat won the opening match of the BCCI T20 League by 62 runs in Mumbai. After skipper Parthiv Patel and Venugopal Rao put Gujarat in a commanding position with an 80-run partnership, Jasprit Bumrah and Munaf Patel dealt early blows to push Maharashtra on the back foot. With three wickets between the pacers and a run out, Gujarat had reduced Maharashtra to 27 for four in the fifth over. They continued to strike at regular intervals to bowl Maharashtra out for 109 and claim victory in the West Zone clash.

Earlier, inserted to bat first, Parthiv got off to a good start. The Gujarat skipper struck Samad Fallah for three boundaries in the first over. Parthiv also whipped the other opening bowler, Shrikant Mundhe, through covers for four as he garnered runs at a quick pace. With Rajdeep Darbar, he took the opening partnership to 37. However, Darbar then lost his stumps to Dominic Muthuswami.

Rajul Bhatt, who then came to the crease, added 14 runs before Ankit Bawne knocked back his stumps. With the team on 65, Rao came to the crease. While he continued to milk the bowlers, Parthiv reverse swept Chirag Khurana for a six. Rao hit the first six off Khurana over the on side in the 13th over, and later in the over, he struck four through point to bring up the team’s 100. Parthiv brought up his 50 off 41 balls soon after.

Looking to increase the flow of runs further, Rao struck Akshay Darekar inside out over mid-off for six. While they picked 12 runs off Darekar, Rao helped add 15 more off Mundhe in the next. He was dropped on 36 in the 16th over and made the most of the chance by smashing a six soon after.

It was Parthiv’s turn to go for the big hits. He hit Darekar for six over long-on, but he was caught by Rahul Tripathi off the next ball and returned after making 70 off 53 balls.

Rao’s runfest was halted in the next over as Vijay Zol took a catch to send him back for 47 off 27 balls. With 13 balls left, Himalaya Barad joined Akshar Patel in the middle. But off the first ball of the penultimate over, he was caught by Tripathi at long-off off Fallah. Muthusawmi then claimed Akshar with two balls left, while Jesal Karia struck the bowler for six off the last ball to take the score to 171 for six.

Defending the total, Munaf Patel conceded only two runs off the first over. In the second over, Maharashtra lost three wickets and were reduced to three for three. Jasprit Bumrah disrupted Vijay Zol’s woodwork, while Harshad Khadiwale was run out off the next ball. The pacer then uprooted Tripathi’s leg-stump to reduce Maharashtra to three for three.

With the team backed in a corner, Ankit Bawne joined captain Kedar Jadhav. The skipper had added 22 off 14 balls, but after hitting Munaf for four, the bowler claimed Jadhav’s off-stump off the next delivery. With the team gasping for breath on 27 for four, Nikhil Naik made his way to the middle. And 16 runs later, N Chauhan had Bawne leg before. Without a run added to the total, Naik too was back in the dressing room soon, leaving the team on 43 for six. Looking for a big hit off Rohit Dahiya, he was caught by Munaf at long-on.

With the target looming at a distance, Khurana joined Mundhe in the middle. Firmly in the driver’s seat, Gujarat maintained a strangle hold on the game. Khuarna was the next to return to the dugout after offering a simple catch to Barad off Akshar; he was replaced by Darekar in the middle.
However, with the team on the back foot, Mundhe decided to attack. He hit Karia for a six over long-off and then clobbered Chauhan for 20 runs in an over. But an aerial shot by Mundhe was caught by Karia at cover off Dahiya, bringing an end to the batsman’s cameo (42 off 26 balls).

Thanks to a mix-up Darekar was run out, leaving the team on 108 for nine. And finally, Akshar castled Muthusawmi in the next over to bring the curtains down on the game. 

Mumbai vs Baroda: With a blistering 57-ball 82*, H Pandya set up a victory for Baroda. The middle-order batsman powered his team to 144 for five after losing both openers with 20 runs on the board. Captain Yusuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan contributed 13 runs each. Munaf Patel then helped dismantle the Mumbai line-up and bowl Baroda to a 19-run win. Munaf claimed three wickets, while L Meriwala and K Pandya took two wickets each and Irfan picked one wicket


Preview: World T20 – Australia vs India

India aim to top table; Australia fight to stay alive


Match 28 of the ICC World Twenty20, 2014


Sunday, March 30, (13:30 GMT | 19:30 Local | 19:00 IST)


Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

The Teams


The team from Down Under haven’t been able to maintain the high they came in with after the Ashes success. With two losses in as many matches in the tournament so far, Australia are staring down the eliminating barrel. Darren Lehmann can only hope the desperation will bring out the best in his team.

Australia’s pace-centered bowling attack has understandably struggled on the slow and low Mirpur wicket, conceding 175-plus runs in both matches. George Bailey might consider reversing his decision of leaving Brad Hogg out of the XI in the last game. In such spin-friendly conditions young leg-spinner, James Muirhead, would prefer playing a support hand to an experienced campaigner like Hogg.


MS Dhoni seems to have entered his comfort zone where his team is operating like a well-oiled engine. In all the three matches so far, Dhoni won the toss, spinners restricted the opposition for a below-par target which the batsmen chased down with ease. Given they have already qualified for the semi-finals, Dhoni must consider creating a different situation by electing to bat first if he calls the toss right once again. The experience would help both batsmen and bowlers in the knockout games.

Given the Indian skipper’s track record, expect him to make little or no change in the playing XI, hence keeping from disturbing the continuity.

Key Players


Glenn Maxwell is in red-hot form, top scoring for Australia in both the matches with 74 and 45 respectively. If he could add to his form, his IPL experience against the Indian players, he could win the Aussies the match singlehandedly.


The spin-twin of Amit Mishra and R Ashwin has worked cohesively to architect India’s previous wins. They should feel further confident given the Indian spinners generally have an upper-hand over the Australian batsmen.


Statistical Preview, India vs Australia

Result summary in Twenty20 Internationals


















Last encounter between these two sides at Rajkot on October 10, 2013

India 202/4 beat Australia 201/7 by 6 wickets

Last 5 matches (Most recent listed first)

India: W W W W W

Australia: L L W W W

Captaincy records






MS Dhoni






George Bailey







Glenn Maxwell has scored 119 runs off just 55 balls in the tournament at a strike-rate of 216.36. 104 of those runs have come in only boundaries.

R Ashwin is yet to concede a six off his bowling in the tournament

Nearly half of balls bowled by Indian bowlers in the tournament have been dot balls.


Australia: George Bailey (capt), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Hodge, Brad Haddin (wk), Cameron White, James Faulkner, Daniel Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Brad Hogg, Doug Bollinger, James Buirhead, Mitchell Starc.

India: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Amit Mishra, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron, Ravindra Jadeja.