1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Report: Ind vs Ire (Women), WT20 Warm-up Match

BCCI Staff in Mumbai 21 March 2014 - 04:59pm IST

Report: Ind vs Ire (Women), WT20 Warm-up Match

Indian eves register 26-run win ahead of 2014 WT20

The Shikha Pandey-led attack bowled India Women to a 26-run win against Ireland Women at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan No.4 Ground in their second warm-up match ahead of the 2014 Women's World T20. An unbeaten half-century by Punam Raut and 42 by Mithali Raj helped India Women to 148 for four after being asked to bat first by Ireland. Pandey then pumped the breaks on Ireland, and finished with figures of three for 24. The rest of the bowling attack then kept Ireland down to 122 for nine in their unsuccessful attempt of chasing down the 149-run target.

Clare Shillington and Emma Flanagan had added 61 runs before the latter retired at the end of 11 overs. With her team comfortably placed, Shillington, who was the dominant partner in the opening stand, looked to take the innings forward with Melissa Scott-Hayward. However, 10 runs later, the opener was sent back by Pandey, three short of her half-century. The breakthrough triggered a collapse, which tipped the balance in India's favour. Couple of overs later, Poonam Yadav struck to remove Cecelia Joyce, while Pandey dealt a double-blow in the next. She dismissed Scott-Hayward and Isobel Joyce to leave Ireland on 90 for five. In the following over, Soniya Dabir claimed Elena Tice and Jennifer Gary to reduce the opposition to 94 for seven. M Waldron was the next to be sent back by S Naidu, while E Richardson was run out in the last over with the score on 115. By then, India were firmly in the driver's seat.

Earlier, the 59-run opening stand between Raj and Smriti Mandhana helped lay a solid platform, before the former's quick-fire knock was ended by Lucy O'Reilly. Tice then bowled the new batter, Pandey, for one in the next over. However, Raut then came out and anchored the innings for the remaining 11 overs with a 40-ball 50.

While Raut looked to maintain the momentum set by Raj, she and Mandhana added just 10 runs, before the opener was run out for 20 halfway through the India innings. Dabir then joined Raut in adding 43 runs for the fourth wicket, before being sent back Louise McCarthy. With a little over three overs left, Harmanpreet Kaur came to the crease. Although she added only five runs, she was involved in a 30-run unbroken stand with Raut that helped India Women to 148 for four.