Report: Bangladesh vs India (Women) – 2nd T20I

India win second T20 to seal series victory

India Women cantered to an eight-wicket win after the Jhulan Goswami-led attack restricted Bangladesh Women to 65 for nine to set up the match in visitors’ favour. With the comprehensive win in the second T20I, India have taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match T20I series.

Chasing the paltry target, Madhuri Mehta opened the innings with Shikha Pandey and they put together 45 for the first wicket. Goswami then slammed 18 off 13 balls to attain the target along with Harmanpreet Kaur at the other end to cruise to victory with 45 balls to spare.

Earlier, after electing to bat first, Bangladesh opener Sanjida Islam was run out for five. And two overs later, Ayasha Rahman followed her back. With the score still on 18, Rumana Ahmed was sent back by Poonam Yadav, who also dismissed Salma Khatun later in the over. Nuzhat Tasnia and Shaila Sharmin were the next to return. Both were bowled by Goswami off consecutive balls in the 13th over of the innings. Bangladesh were at sea, as wickets tumbled at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium. Two more players perished to run outs, while Pandey accounted for Fargana Hoque, who was the top-scorer for the hosts with 18 runs. Panna Ghosh was then joined in the middle by Jahanara Alam, and the duo took their team to 65 at the end of their quota of overs.

Player of the Match: Jhulan Goswami for her two wickets and quick-fire 18-run knock

Brief scores: Bangladesh Women 65/9 in 20 overs (F Hoque 18, P Yadav 2/9, J Goswami 2/15) lost to India Women 66/2 in 12.3 overs (M Mehta 23, J Goswami 18) by eight wickets


Roundup: Vijay Hazare Trophy, PQF, Day 2

Centurions Uthappa and Nair set up victory for Karnataka

Karnataka have carried forward their form from the multi-day matches to the one-dayers. After resounding victories in the longer formats, they trumped Gujarat to enter the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. While Robin Uthappa and Karun Nair struck centuries to set up the game in Karnataka's favour, Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun ran through the Gujarat line-up by claiming four wickets each. Here are the highlights of the day:

Gujarat vs Karnataka: Karnataka beat Gujarat by 30 runs in their quarter-final match at Kolkata. Asked to bat first, Karnataka piled on 301 courtesy centuries by Robin Uthappa and Karun Nair. With Karnataka left tottering on 31 for four in the seventh over, the pair revived the innings with superb knocks. Opening the innings, Uthappa remained unbeaten on 132 as he held up one end, while the in-form middle-order batsman Karun Nair added 120 off 121 balls. With score on 240, Nair was castled by Akshar Patel with over seven overs left in the innings. However, Uthappa's determined 134-ball effort, comprising three sixes and 10 fours, ensured the team from South Zone posted a hefty total on the board.

Defending the sizeable target, Vinay Kumar set the tone of the innings by sending back Parthiv Patel for four. Abhimanyu Mithun then claimed three to leave the opposition on 74 for four. Akshar Patel posted a fighting 93 off 78 balls, but his knock went in vain the rest of the line-up caved in to the Karnataka bowlers. HS Sharath claimed the key wicket of Akshar, while the other two pacers did the rest of the line-up in. Gujarat were eventually bowled out for 271 with 10 balls to spare.