bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Report: BCCI Corporate Trophy Final, CAG vs Chemplast

CAG beat Chemplast to lift the title

CAG pulled off a remarkable 32-run win over defending champions Chemplast in the BCCI Corporate Trophy final 2013-14. Imtiyaz Ahmed claimed five for 21 to help bowl his team to victory after CAG were bowled out for 210 in 46.5 overs at the Wankhede Stadium.

Defending the total, Rituraj Singh and Imtiyaz Ahmed left Chemplast reeling on 30 for four. Brought in at first change, Imtiyaz claimed Murali Vijay and Mayank Agarwal, while Rituraj sent back K H Gopinath and Einstein N. But Robin Bist and C Hemant Kumar stemmed the fall of wickets with a 52-run partnership until Imtiyaz struck again and removed Bist.

However, captain Hemant Kumar dropped anchor and rallied on to keep his team in the game. He then worked to salvage the innings in partnership with R Satish. The pair had taken the team to 133 when Rituraj Singh ended their stand. After being hit for consecutive boundaries in the powerplay over, he had Satish caught behind the stumps. The wicket brought Piyush Chawla to the crease and the lower-order batsmen kept the match hanging in balance with his captain for company. The pair took their team to 169, which is when the key wicket of the Chemplast captain was claimed by his opposite number.

It was left to the experienced Chawla to take the team across the line with the lower order. But the CAG bowlers maintained a stranglehold on the batsmen. Saxena bowled his quota of 12 overs and saved Imtiyaz for the end overs. With 42 required off 43 balls, Sandeep Sharma had joined Chawla in the middle, and while the duo looked to inch towards the target, the CAG bowlers bowled tight overs backed by good fielding. Biplab Samnatray then gave CAG a crucial breakthrough by sending back Chawla and Saxena bowled the next over maiden. In the next over, Imityaz, who was brought back into the attack with CAG needing two wickets to win, removed R Suthesh and P Parameshwaran to bowl Chemplast out for 178 and claim the trophy.

Earlier, asked to bat first, the CAG batsmen were kept on their toes by Cheplast’s new-ball bowlers Sandeep Sharma and R Suthesh. Sandeep bowled a miserly first spell, which read 7-4-8-2. He got the ball rolling with the wicket of Saxena. The pacer swung the ball and asked questions of the batsmen as he kept the flow of runs in check. Chemplast had the opposition struggling on 56 for three, but Rameez Khan trudged along and held up one end. He scored 41 before being sent back. Having bowled the opposition out in less than 50 overs, Chemplast had kept them 20-odd runs short of what would have been a tough target.

Man of the Match: Imtiyaz Ahmed for his five-wicket haul 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Report: ICC U19 CWC – Ind vs PNG

India canter to 245-run victory to top the table
Report: ICC U19 CWC – Ind vs PNG

After Sanju Samson powered India Under-19 to 301, their bowlers skittled out Papua New Guinea Under-19 for 56 to claim a 245-run win at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Kuldeep Yadav claimed four wickets while Monu Kumar claimed three and Deepak Hooda pitched in with two wickets.
Earlier, after Vijay Zol opted to bat first, Ankush Bains and Akhil Herwadkar’s opening partnership was ended by Sakavai Gebai for 58. Zol then joined Bains in taking the team to 132 before being castled by Alei Nao. Seven runs later Bains top-edged Nao to depart for 59.

But with the stage already set, Sanju Samson, who had replaced Zol at the crease, accelerated the run rate with a 48-ball 85. The middle-order batsman clobbered the PNG bowlers as he raced to his half-century.

Samson commenced his onslaught by smashing Gebai for a six and a four. In the bowler’s next over he collected 23 runs. He had struck Gebai for four consecutive boundaries followed by a six and a single to end the over. Samson reached his fifty by hitting Joseph for a six over mid-wicket. His assault of the PNG bowlers continued as he piled on runs for India. However, in the two overs before returning to the pavilion he was let off a couple of times at deep midwicket as he went for the big hits. With Shreyas Iyer at the other end Samson had added 116 runs for the fourth wicket until Nao ended the partnership.

Caught at long off by Gebai, Iyer departed for 36 runs. In the next over, with little over three overs left in the innings, Samson was caught at short fine leg off Morea. Sarfaraz Khan, who had come out to the middle at the fall of Iyer’s wicket, continued the fireworks. Remaining unbeaten, he slammed 34 off 18 balls while Aamir Gani was not out on two at the other end. Sarfaraz had lofted the last ball of the innings over long on to take the team past 300.

In the second over of the PNG innings Monu Kumar, dealt a double blow by rattling Kiplin Doriga and Raho Sam’s woodwork. With PNG on three for two, the pacer was on a hat-trick but bowled a wide as he bowled at Dogodo Bau. 11 overs later Kuldeep Yadav trapped Riley Hekure leg-before for 20 while Gani followed up with the wicket of Bau in the next.

With the top four back in the dressing room for 33, Allan Joseph joined Hiri Hiri in the middle but 19 runs was castled by Monu Kumar who was brought back into the attack. The wicket triggered another collapse. In the next over, Hiri edged Hooda to Sarfaraz while Tom Willie was out lbw two balls later.

Micah Pokana was sent back by Yadav in the following over while Morea perished taking the aerial route in the spinner’s in his next. Yadav then wrapped-up the PNG U19 innings in his next over by dismantling Nao’s stumps in his next over. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article