1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Report: Final - Maha vs Kar, RT 2013-14, Day 5

Prajakta Pawar in Mumbai 03 February 2014 - 08:48am IST

Report: Final - Maha vs Kar, RT 2013-14, Day 5

Karnataka beat Maharashtra to clinch Ranji Trophy 2013-14

Karnataka lifted their seventh Ranji Trophy title, beating Maharashtra by seven wickets in the final at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday. With the win, Karnataka, who last won the trophy in 1998-99, are now joint second with Delhi while Mumbai top the list with 40 wins so far.

Resuming the fifth and final day at 272 for six, Maharashtra lost their last four wickets for 94 runs and were bowled out of 366 in the second innings. Leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal shared eight wickets with his captain and pacer Vinay Kumar. Maharashtra made 305 in the first innings.

Chasing a target of 157, Karnataka, who made 515 in the first innings, got a good start with Robin Uthappa (36) and Lokesh Rahul (29) adding 65 runs for the first wicket.

Uthappa led the attack by taking on the bowlers early in the innings. During his innings of 36, which had six fours, he played a square drive, smashed the ball between cover and extra cover and also hit an elegant straight drive.

Rahul (29, 3x4, 2x6), Karnataka’s leading run-scorer for the season and who was also adjudged player of the final, was slow off the blocks but broke free in 15th over when he hit two consecutive sixes and a four off Chirag Khurana.

Uthappa’s wicket in the next over off Akshay Khurana and then the dropped catch of batsman Amit Verma (38) gave some anxious moments to Karnataka but Pandey and Karun Nair ensured the team crossed the mark without further hiccups.

Earlier, resuming on 272 for six, Maharashtra added 94 runs to their overnight total before being bowled out on the fifth morning.

Man of the Match: Karnataka's Lokesh Rahul for his 131 in the first innings to set up the match.