Report: Ranji Trophy Final - Maha vs Kar, Day 1

Bawne, Khurana half-centuries help Maharashtra to 272/5

Anchoring the innings, Ankit Bawne took Maharashtra to 272 for five at stumps on the first day of the Ranji Trophy 2013-14 final against Karnataka. He was batting on 89 with Sangram Atitkar on 29 at the end of day’s play.

Earlier, Maharashtra elected to bat first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium at Uppal in Hyderabad and lost Harshad Khadiwale with just 24 runs on board. Karnataka skipper Vinay Kumar trapped the opener leg-before to give his team an early breakthrough. Eight overs later, S Aravind sent back Vijay Zol to leave the Rohit Motwani-led team on 42 for two.

Maharashtra’s in-form batsman Kedar Jadhav then joined the opener in the middle to help stabilize the innings. Both batsmen were scoring at a steady pace as the lunch break neared. However, with the partnership on 48, an Abhimanyu Mithun delivery travelling down the leg-side was caught by CM Gautam behind the stumps spelling the dismissal of Jadhav for 37.

With three wickets lost in the first session of the first day, it was imperative for Maharashtra to see the day through without losing too many wickets. Khurana, who had held up one end through the morning, then took his team to lunch at 95 for three along with Ankit Bawne. The pair continued to rally on in the second session, until Karun Nair ended the partnership. He dismissed Khurana for 64. However, Bawne continued to hold up one end. With his skipper for company, the middle-order batsman saw the team through to the end of the second session taking Maharashtra to tea at 195 for four.

The pair had stitched a 71-run partnership for the fifth wicket, until Motwani edged Mithun to the wicketkeeper and departed for 17. Six overs into the third session, Sangram Atitkar took guard opposite Bawne and ensured that Maharashtra did not lose any more wickets in the final session of the day. Atitkar, who came into the game on the back of a 168-run knock in the semi-final, bided his time at the crease as the duo worked its way through the session. The partnership was unbroken on 57 when play ended on the first day.


Stats Highlights: NZ vs Ind, 4th ODI

Binny becomes 200th player to be capped by India

India's Varun Aaron and India's Stuart Binny celebrate the wicket of Black Cap's Jesse Ryder during match 4 of the ANZ One Day International Cricket Series. New Zealand Black Caps v India at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Tuesday 28 January 2014. Photo: Bruce Lim /

Stuart Binny became the 200th player to represent India in one-day internationals. He also provided the third instance of a son following his father in representing India in one-day internationals. Here’s the list of father-son duos who represented India in ODIs:

Yograj Singh (6) & Yuvraj Singh (293)
Sunil Gavaskar (108) & Rohan Gavaskar (11)
Roger Binny (72) & Stuart Binny (1)

At 29 years 239 days, Stuart Binny is the oldest to make his ODI debut for India since 2003, when Abhijit Kale made his debut at the age of 29 years 287 days.

After electing to field first in 20 consecutive ODIs outside the subcontinent, an Indian captain finally elected to bat first after winning the toss.

Virat Kohli opened the innings for the first time since 2008. Incidentally, Kohli played his first five ODI innings as opener only, registering the scores of 12, 37, 25, 54 and 31.

MS Dhoni (79*) made his 46th 50-plus score as captain, which takes him past the tally of New Zealand’s Stephen Fleming and South Africa’s Graeme Smith. Now only Ricky Ponting has more 50-plus scores (73) as an international captain than Dhoni.

Kane Williamson (60) made his fourth consecutive 50 in the series. He became the sixth New Zealand batsman to score four 50s on the trot, after Glenn Turner, Andrew Jones, Roger Twose, Scott Styris and Martin Guptill.

Williamson is the first New Zealand batsman to score four consecutive 50s against India. Glenn Turner, Stephen Fleming and Roger Twose scored 50-plus scores in three consecutive innings against India.

Willimson’s tally of 273 runs is the highest by a New Zealand batsman in a series against India. Nathan Astle held the previous record with 234 runs in 1999-00 (later Ross Taylor also surpassed Astle’s tally).

Ross Taylor (112*) scored his ninth ODI 100 – his first against India. With this ton, Taylor moved ahead of Stephen Fleming’s tally of triple-digit scores. Now only Nathan Astle (16) has scored more 100s for New Zealand than Taylor.

Brendon McCullum ended the match with a six. Interestingly, the last New Zealand batsman to win an ODI with a six was his brother Nathan McCullum against Sri Lanka at Hambantota on 12-11-2013.

New Zealand registered their first series win at home in five years against countries other than Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

Since the series against Zimbabwe in June 2013, India have conceded 280-plus scores in 13 games out of 16 they have played.

India have not won a single game out of last seven they have played outside India. Before that they won eight on the trot outside India!