1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Kapil Dev gets BCCI 'Lifetime Achievement Award'

BCCI Staff in Mumbai 12 January 2014 - 08:28am IST

Kapil Dev gets BCCI 'Lifetime Achievement Award'

Ashwin wins the Polly Umrigar Award for being the best international cricketer in 2012-13

Former Indian captain Kapil Dev was honoured with Col. C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the BCCI at its seventh annual awards ceremony on Saturday.

The legendary all-rounder and 1983 World Cup-winning captain Kapil became the 21st Indian cricketer to receive the C K Nayudu Award.

“I like to thank all captains whom I played with from Bishan Bedi to Mohammad Azharuddin, for believing in me. For those who played under me, I appreciate their support,” Kapil said.

“For the Indian cricket team about to go on a tour (to New Zealand), I want to wish them all the best.”

He continued: “When you are young and playing, awards don’t matter as you are filled with passion for the game. It is only now when an honour like this comes your way, by way of appreciation from your own Board that increases the sense of happiness.”

One of the greatest all-rounders of all time, Kapil Dev was the first player to complete the 'double' of 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests.

Team India member Ravichandran Ashwin won the Polly Umrigar Award for being the best international cricketer last season.

Ashwin in the 2012-13 season during which he claimed 43 wickets, inclusive of four 5WI and one 10WM, and scored 263 runs, inclusive of two 50's from 8 Tests, besides grabbing 24 wickets from 18 ODIs, and three wickets from four T20 Internationals.

“I am happy and proud to be on this stage where legends of Indian cricket have been honoured. It would not have been possible without my teammates,” said the Indian off-spinner, named the Best International Cricketer for 2012-13.

The Polly Umrigar Award comprises a trophy and a cheque for Rs 5 lakh and the award has been won in previous years twice by Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10) and once each by Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09), Rahul Dravid (2010-11) and Virat Kohli (2011-12).

Here’s the full list of the winners at the BCCI Annual Awards 2012-13.