1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Ranji Trophy 2013-14: QF Round-up, Jan 8

BCCI Staff in Mumbai 08 January 2014 - 06:20pm IST

Ranji Trophy 2013-14: QF Round-up, Jan 8

Uthappa, Nair, Surya strike tons on Day 1

On the first day of the quarter-finals of the Ranji Trophy 2013-14 season, Robin Uthappa and K Nair resurrected the Karnataka innings after they were rocked on the back foot by UP. Meanwhile, in Mumbai, Vinit Indulkar and Suryakumar Yadav salvaged the home team’s innings after Maharashtra struck early on. And in Baroda, the Parvez Rasool-led J&K side bowled Punjab out on the first day; while in Kolkata, Railways’ Anureet Singh picked four wickets against Bengal.

Here is the round-up for the day:

Bengal vs Railways: In their match at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Bengal posted 274 for eight on the first day after being asked to bat first. The home team lost Arindam Das and SG Das off successive deliveries to Anureet Singh. With the home team left reeling in the third over on three for the loss of two wickets, S Chatterjee joined A Easwaran and helped revive the innings. The pair put together 163 for the third wicket, until Karn Sharma sent back the opener for 65. Chatterjee was the next to be removed by Singh. Anureet Singh also claimed W Chatterjee later to finish the day with a four-wicket haul.

At stumps, Wriddhiman Saha was batting on 60 with Ashoke Dinda on 17.

Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh: Upon electing to field first at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, UP struck early to leave the hosts tottering on 15 for the loss of three wickets in the ninth over. Opener Lokesh Rahul was sent back for naught by Ankit Rajpoot, while Amit Mishra sent back R Samarth and Manish Pandey for ducks. However, robin Uthappa and K Nair struck centuries to revive the Karnataka innings. Ali Murtuza accounted for Uthappa's wicket with the home team on 135, and later he trapped Nair lbw. The fall of Nair's wicket, with Karnataka on 297 for five, also signaled the end of day's play.

CM Gautam was batting on 89 at stumps. 

Punjab vs J&K: After opting to field first at the Moti Bagh Stadium in Vadodara, J&K bowled Punjab out for 304 in the first innings. Umar Nazir claimed four, while R Dayal picked three wickets and S Beigh took two. Skipper Parvez Rasool chipped in with the wicket of his opposite number, Harbhajan Singh, who was the top-scorer for Punjab with 92.

In reply, J&K were 11 for one at stumps with Adil Rishi and Bandeep Singh at the crease.

Mumbai vs Maharashtra: Mumbai were 306 for seven at stumps on Day 1 at Wankhede Stadium. Suryakumar Yadav stepped up to the challenge with his first century of the season, while Vinit Indulkar supported him with a carefully-compiled 82.

Click here for the report.