1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Ranji Trophy 2013-14: Round-up, Dec 24

BCCI Staff in Mumbai 24 December 2013 - 07:23pm IST

Ranji Trophy 2013-14: Round-up, Dec 24

Andhra beat Tripura by 10 wickets

Andhra was the only team to register a win on the penultimate day in the eighth round of the Ranji Trophy 2013-14 season. Their 10-wicket win earned them seven points. Here is the round-up for the Day 3:

Group A 

Karnataka vs Mumbai: HS Sharath claimed five wickets, while S Gopal claimed three to bowl Mumbai out for 269 after resuming on 217 for seven in the morning. Siddhesh Lad's 93 helped the visitors take a marginal first-innings lead in the match.

Manish Pandey's century then propelled Karnataka to 286 for eight at stumps. The middle-order batsman was sent back by Vishal Dabholkar, who also claimed the key wicket of Stuart Binny. S Netravalkar picked two more and Javed Khan also took two. KP Apanna was batting with HS Sharath when play ended today.

Punjab vs Delhi: Jiwanjot Singh's 147 before being sent back by Nitin Saini and Mandeep Sing's 80 apart from useful contributions from G Khera and S kaul helped Punjab to 402 in the second innings before they were bowled out. Punjab's performance in the second innings helped them set a 327-run target for Delhi. Chasing the competitive score, Delhi's Unmukt Chand was dismissed for a duck by Sandeep Sharma and later Mithun Manhas too was out for zero. At stumps, Delhi were 60 for three with Gautam Gambhir batting on 22 along with night watchman Ashish Nehra at the other end.

Gujarat vs Odisha: Natraj Behera's fourth century in a row helped Odisha to 345 for eight at the end of today's play. The opener scored 106, but the rest of the middle order was sent back before they could covert their respective starts. R Dhruve claimed four for 78, while Jasprit Bumrah picked three wickets to keep the Odisha innings in check. They were trailing by 134 runs with two wickets in hand against Gujarat in the first innings.

Jharkhand vs Vidarbha: Samar Quadri claimed six wickets, while Shahbaz Nadeem picked three to wreck the Vidarbha line-up and bowl them out for 218 in the first innings. Building on the first-innings lead, Jharkhand were 83 for three and led by 197 runs with seven wickets in hand at stumps.

Group B 

Baroda vs Saurashtra: Utkarsh Patel's fiver and M Vahora's three wickets helped wrap up Saurashtra for 311 after resuming on 215 for six on the third day. Baroda then scored 207 for six by the end of day's play in the second innings. Pinal Shah was batting on 31 with U Patel also on 31 and the team's lead extended to 296 at stumps.

Railways vs SSCB: Railways had taken a 178-run lead and had four wickets in hand at the end of the third day against Services. A middle and lower-order collapse led to Services being bundled out for 153 in their first innings. Railways claimed the remaining two wickets for two runs earlier in the morning.

At stumps, Railways were 224 for six with M Rawat batting on 67 along with Ashish Yadav on 32.

UPCA vs MPCA: Ankit Rajpoot's fiver and Imtiaz Ahmed's four-for helped UP skittle MP out for 115 earlier in the day. Extending the lead to 213, UP were 78 for three at stumps.

Tamil Nadu vs Rajasthan: Rajasthan were trailing by 11 runs with six wickets in hand in the first innings at close of play on the third day against Tamil Nadu. Resuming their innings on 89 without loss, the visitors went on to score 307 at stumps. Skipper Hrishikesh Kanitakar was batting on 38 with R Bishnoi on 20 at the end of day's play. Rahil Shah had taken two of the four wickets that fell today.

Group C 

J&K vs Hyderabad: Hyderabad's DB Ravi Teja was sent back for 179 after resuming on 153 by Parvez Rasool earlier on Day 3. In addition to the two centurions, A Shinde's 97 helped the visitors to 514 for eight before they declared their innings. S Mehdi Hasan's three wickets and Ravi Kiran's two then reduced J&K to 198 for six at stumps. Hardeep Singh was batting with Ramdayal Punia when play ended on the third day.

Himachal vs Maharashtra: At stumps, HP were trailing by 162 runs with nine wickets in hand against Maharashtra in Pune. Earlier, Ankit Bawne (138) helped the hosts pile on runs in the first innings. After Maharashtra declared their innings on 488 for six, HP made 98 for the loss of one wicket until stumps. Varun Sharma was batting on 35 with Paras Dogra on 41 when play ended.

Tripura vs Andhra: Andhra gained seven points from their 10-wicket win over Tripura. In the low-scoring match at the Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium in Agartala, Tripura were bundled out for 86 after resuming their second innings on 20 for three on the penultimate day. Led by D Shivkumar, who claimed four wickets in the innings, Andhra bowled the opposition out in 39.4 overs.

Andhra then chased down the 103-run target in 21.2 overs. KS Bharat made 64 not-out, while DB Prasnath remained unbeaten on 39.

Kerala vs Goa: The Shadab Jakati-led attack bowled Kerala out for 147 in the second innings on the third day. He claimed four wickets, while Amit Yadav picked three and B Mangaldas took two. Goa were 82 for five at stumps. K Vaz and R Shukla were at the crease when play ended.